We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

while my wife and i were travaling Canada we stayed here a couple of nights .the rooms are large and clean the staff on the front desk were helpful with any request we had, the food in both restaurants is excellent.we would book again when were next in Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    176
    74
    36
    19
See reviews for
92
271
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed there over the weekend for a wedding. The place was beautiful and the catering staff were amazing! What ruined the trip for us and many other guests was the rude service at the front desk. Reservations were lost on several occasions, check-in was incredibly slow and unfriendly. The bar staff were nice, however they were not able to keep track of who ordered what.
Beautiful location, lovely rooms.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a better view and you don't feel like you are right in the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, I apologize for the level of service you received while at the lodge, this certainly does not meet the standard we strive for. I have passed your comments onto our front desk and lounge staff. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourget, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Only stayed here as it was for an event - didn't want to stay here based on the reviews. Anyway, the reviews were right. Here are the 'highlights' of our stay:

- at check-in, was told we couldn't get the room we had booked. Weren't offered a discount or any perks.

- Upon getting into the room, was so disappointed in quality and cleanliness. See my picture of the chair. Too dark to take pictures of other dirty carpet areas. Smelled musty and room was stuffy.

- called front desk to voice disappointment in room quality, had to insist that a manager talk to me - was not offered. Was also told that all rooms were booked so that was why we didn't get our room, and then the story changed to say that "the boiler in your room is broken so you either get the room you have now or you have no hot water, what do you prefer?" .... the broken boiler story is VERY familiar on this thread of reviews.

- noise from others walking upstairs was so loud it would wake you up

- did get breakfast voucher for our 'inconvenience', but still not impressed by the lodge. Food was good, long wait to be seated, waitresses seemed stressed and lots of running around but others around us waiting for service/bill/plates to be removed for buffet...

- bathroom was big, but use of space was poor. Shower was small, no shelves or soap ledge. Nice fixtures but sink was dirty.

- grounds were nice to walk around, nice flower beds. Though driving through the lodge was a mess.

- we went out and upon our return found THREE separate cars that were parked over 2 spaces and we didn't have a spot to park near our building. Were told by front desk to park on the road and 'you shouldn't get a ticket, we do it all the time'. Though, even with bear warnings for the area, they didn't offer a flashlight or escort to walk from the dark road, through the woods to our building. For hundreds of dollars a night, I expected someone to ask the other people staying to move their cars as it was not late.

Would never stay here again - as I said we didn't chose to in the first place. Was so dirty that we felt we couldn't walk anywhere or eat in the room. Very stuffy, finally found a fan in the closet which was a relief. Too dark in the room.

The room faced the meadow, but had to overlook the other overflow parking. Many groundskeepers and other staff/visitors walked by or over the little patio outside the room. Didn't feel safe, or private.

Not recommended. Sorry to say the high price does not promise high quality.

Room Tip: main floor room not worth it - but we reserved top floor room and didn't get it so ... no point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I do apologize for the issues you had while staying with us, the level of service you describe certainly does not meet the standards we strive for. I have passed your comments onto our housekeeping and front desk department, we do appreciate you taking the time to let us know of these issues.

If you would like to speak to someone further regarding your stay, you can contact bmlalm@crmr.com

Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I recently stayed here on my yearly trip to Banff in July. Stayed at this hotel because our regular hotel was sold out. It was a lovely room 2 queen beds, fireplace, balcony only thing was the next morning the room wasnt cleaned I mean the beds were made but no dusting no cleaning the dead moth that was there before our visit! The lodge doesnt have AC, but they provide a "fan" and as for location it was ok it was up tunnel mountain so you would have to drive or take the local transit in to town which isnt too bad. They do offer free wifi but up the mountain you get no signal so no cell service! The staff wasnt very forthcoming with information and when we complained about our room not being cleaned the manager of housekeeping came in and just tided up but also made a lot of excuses. For paying over $200 a night I was expecting a lot more

I personally wouldnt stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge where a family wedding was being held. Our major complaint was the smell of our room. Each room has a wood burning fireplace and obviously someone used the one in this particular room without opening the flue. The room had an almost overpowering odor of campfire. We opened all the windows and bought 'febreeze' but nothing helped.
We ate at both restaurants at the lodge, Cilantro was worth visiting, but the main restaurant by the lobby was a waste. We went for breakfast on our first full day and had the 'buffet'. It was $20 a person but wasn't worth half of that. The selection was minimal and the food was all cold. We were impressed by the food at the wedding itself though.
Overall, this hotel was not worth the price paid. The beds were old and uncomfortable, housekeeping was minimal, and the hot tub was more a luke warm tub. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 5 nights. I cant remember staying in a poorer value for money hotel anywhere, anytime. Bedroom and bathroom were big enough but bedroom was so poorly designed and lit it was basically dark. With taxes we paid about $400 a night. For that you get NO wifi in your room even though staff assure you it's there, no fridge, no bottled water, no spare blankets, one large chair to sit on (your partner needs to sit on bed). In 2013 this standard of accommodation is unacceptable, particularly re wifi. Staff in restaurant were very good. Staff at front desk less so. We would say a avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I apologize for the issues you had while staying with us. We are aware of the wifi connection and that it can be a shaky connection on the property, this is due to our location within the mountains and I can assure you we are working on improving the connection. Also, fridges and extra blankets are available upon request to the front desk. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed two nights here August 12-14, 2013. We had the executive suite with two queens, a claw-foot bathtub, sitting area in front of a wood burning fireplace. There was a deck with chairs overlooking a partial view of Banff and beautiful trees. The place was crowded but you couldn't really tell. Very quiet at night. It's a short, 10-15 minute, walk into town. The internet didn't work well for most of the time. If you travel from outside Canada and do not want to pay for cell phone service whilst abroad, the internet is really the only way to check on attractions, news, maps, etc. Otherwise, the service was excellent, staff very friendly. There is a wine shop directly across the way so, if you want wine, beer, you can get it cheaper. No frig in room, by the way. This room was expensive. But you will find that Banff is expensive all around. A good value if you don't mind the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.