We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cottage feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice cottage feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and it feels like our little cottage in the woods. Kind of far from downtown but that was what we were looking for. Fire place was great and the deck was very relaxing. Over all very happy with the decor and service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    221
    98
    48
    27
See reviews for
124
359
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Room inside lovely, but too dark and next door can be overheard. Not great build quality.
Housekeeping quality poor, 2/5 days had significant issues, once room only half done.
List power and water for 2 hours. No backup.
Food offering expensive. Courtesy bus does not exist.
Room needs kettle and fridge.
Not a bad place to stay, but not worth the price or other reviews in our experience.
And we had a premium room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked this hotel through hotwire. I was almost certain that we were going to get the Delta when I placed my bid, but this is what we ended up with. We were not expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised on arrival. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The location is tucked away from all the frenzy on Banff Ave. We were in the new section of the resort, so I cannot speak for the older part. Our room was 1005; we were on the main floor with a patio that looked out onto a grassy area and forrest. We sat out on the grassy area one day and looked onto the mountains, it was almost like being at the lake. I recommend this room as some of the rooms looked onto a road.

The rooms were clean, the beds comfy, the fireplace was beautiful, good water pressure, enjoyed the clawfoot bathtub. The only problem was that the lighting is terrible, the room is very dark. Very hard to put on makeup accurately. Also, no room for makeup, hair products on the sink. Such a big bathroom, it could have been better appointed.

Despite the small issues we would return. It was like staying at a cabin in the woods. The food was excellent as well. We will definitely return!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Front Office Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and our surroundings and we appreciated the feedback regarding the lighting. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Assistant Lodge Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had high expectations for this lodge, based on pictures on the lodge's website and comments from an employee at a different CRMR property. The lodge is fine, although probably best during ski season, when the smokey odor and fireplace stains won't be as noticeable. The furniture and duvet covers are dark, the carpet could use replacing, and there were bug stains on the ceiling (probably from killed mosquitoes), so the overall feel wasn't great. Even though the room was a decent size, there was too much furniture in it so that the desk chair didn't have much space to move, and it wasn't possible to get out of one of the sides of one of the beds.

On the upside, the bathroom was clean, light and big, and the water pressure in the shower was great. The coffee at the lodge restaurant was good (as one would hope at around $3.50 a cup), as was the breakfast. The staff was professional and friendly. The property is nicely situated among trees.

I suspect that we just stayed in rooms that need some refreshing and lightening up. The linens should be replaced more frequently, as ours were rough from many washings, and there was a hole in the window screen--not great during mosquito season. I would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms 605 or 606 (lower level, by the road). They are dark and need some upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I think the room is very nice and cozy. Service was amazing. People always have a smile on their face. I was in a hurry and the server was able to serve my food fast. Food was good at main lodge and cilantro although on a pricier side. Breakfast menu could have been better, I had coffee, 2 toasts and 2 eggs and costed $12. I had oatmeal another day, which wasn't on the menu, but you just gotta ask. Wifi was a bit disappointing. Very sporadic and slow. There was a wedding on Saturday night and they were so loud, wish I had a room farther from the wedding part. The noise was loud until late night. Room was good, quite clean but no fridge or kettle. Lighting was dark. The lodge mustn't be far from a train track, I could hear the train every 30 mins on Friday night and I couldn't sleep. No AC, but there was a fan and was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Check-in was efficient, the room was lovely, spacious, two queen beds, chairs, fireplace with wood, large bathroom with traditional fittings, bathrobes (useful for walking to the hot tub on site), iron (not that I used it), plenty of towels and toiletries. Parking was right outside, but one night we got back to find our spot taken! Free wi-if which was great. The hot tub was relaxing and rarely many people in it, although not all the jets worked well. The changing facilities, gym and steam room needed a facelift. We found the place very peaceful and relaxing. We would recommend it to those who like to be out of town, but a car is useful although I think there was a bus service too. There is a restaurant on site but we chose to eat in town. It takes about 15 minutes to walk in to the town, downhill there, uphill back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The staff was excellent, however, the room needed a bit of attention - a cabinet door that needed repair, a hole in the carpet and in the upholstery. The couch in the room was dismal. It begs to be replaced.

It was a bit pricey as well, admittedly, it was high season. If we returned, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.