We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cottage feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Banff
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice cottage feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and it feels like our little cottage in the woods. Kind of far from downtown but that was what we were looking for. Fire place was great and the deck was very relaxing. Over all very happy with the decor and service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    172
    69
    36
    19
See reviews for
91
261
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Room inside lovely, but too dark and next door can be overheard. Not great build quality.
Housekeeping quality poor, 2/5 days had significant issues, once room only half done.
List power and water for 2 hours. No backup.
Food offering expensive. Courtesy bus does not exist.
Room needs kettle and fridge.
Not a bad place to stay, but not worth the price or other reviews in our experience.
And we had a premium room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked this hotel through hotwire. I was almost certain that we were going to get the Delta when I placed my bid, but this is what we ended up with. We were not expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised on arrival. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The location is tucked away from all the frenzy on Banff Ave. We were in the new section of the resort, so I cannot speak for the older part. Our room was 1005; we were on the main floor with a patio that looked out onto a grassy area and forrest. We sat out on the grassy area one day and looked onto the mountains, it was almost like being at the lake. I recommend this room as some of the rooms looked onto a road.

The rooms were clean, the beds comfy, the fireplace was beautiful, good water pressure, enjoyed the clawfoot bathtub. The only problem was that the lighting is terrible, the room is very dark. Very hard to put on makeup accurately. Also, no room for makeup, hair products on the sink. Such a big bathroom, it could have been better appointed.

Despite the small issues we would return. It was like staying at a cabin in the woods. The food was excellent as well. We will definitely return!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Front Office Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and our surroundings and we appreciated the feedback regarding the lighting. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest Regards,
Assistant Lodge Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had high expectations for this lodge, based on pictures on the lodge's website and comments from an employee at a different CRMR property. The lodge is fine, although probably best during ski season, when the smokey odor and fireplace stains won't be as noticeable. The furniture and duvet covers are dark, the carpet could use replacing, and there were bug stains on the ceiling (probably from killed mosquitoes), so the overall feel wasn't great. Even though the room was a decent size, there was too much furniture in it so that the desk chair didn't have much space to move, and it wasn't possible to get out of one of the sides of one of the beds.

On the upside, the bathroom was clean, light and big, and the water pressure in the shower was great. The coffee at the lodge restaurant was good (as one would hope at around $3.50 a cup), as was the breakfast. The staff was professional and friendly. The property is nicely situated among trees.

I suspect that we just stayed in rooms that need some refreshing and lightening up. The linens should be replaced more frequently, as ours were rough from many washings, and there was a hole in the window screen--not great during mosquito season. I would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms 605 or 606 (lower level, by the road). They are dark and need some upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I think the room is very nice and cozy. Service was amazing. People always have a smile on their face. I was in a hurry and the server was able to serve my food fast. Food was good at main lodge and cilantro although on a pricier side. Breakfast menu could have been better, I had coffee, 2 toasts and 2 eggs and costed $12. I had oatmeal another day, which wasn't on the menu, but you just gotta ask. Wifi was a bit disappointing. Very sporadic and slow. There was a wedding on Saturday night and they were so loud, wish I had a room farther from the wedding part. The noise was loud until late night. Room was good, quite clean but no fridge or kettle. Lighting was dark. The lodge mustn't be far from a train track, I could hear the train every 30 mins on Friday night and I couldn't sleep. No AC, but there was a fan and was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Check-in was efficient, the room was lovely, spacious, two queen beds, chairs, fireplace with wood, large bathroom with traditional fittings, bathrobes (useful for walking to the hot tub on site), iron (not that I used it), plenty of towels and toiletries. Parking was right outside, but one night we got back to find our spot taken! Free wi-if which was great. The hot tub was relaxing and rarely many people in it, although not all the jets worked well. The changing facilities, gym and steam room needed a facelift. We found the place very peaceful and relaxing. We would recommend it to those who like to be out of town, but a car is useful although I think there was a bus service too. There is a restaurant on site but we chose to eat in town. It takes about 15 minutes to walk in to the town, downhill there, uphill back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The staff was excellent, however, the room needed a bit of attention - a cabinet door that needed repair, a hole in the carpet and in the upholstery. The couch in the room was dismal. It begs to be replaced.

It was a bit pricey as well, admittedly, it was high season. If we returned, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#12 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.