We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room in a peaceful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely room in a peaceful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Check-in was efficient, the room was lovely, spacious, two queen beds, chairs, fireplace with wood, large bathroom with traditional fittings, bathrobes (useful for walking to the hot tub on site), iron (not that I used it), plenty of towels and toiletries. Parking was right outside, but one night we got back to find our spot taken! Free wi-if which was great. The hot tub was relaxing and rarely many people in it, although not all the jets worked well. The changing facilities, gym and steam room needed a facelift. We found the place very peaceful and relaxing. We would recommend it to those who like to be out of town, but a car is useful although I think there was a bus service too. There is a restaurant on site but we chose to eat in town. It takes about 15 minutes to walk in to the town, downhill there, uphill back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    208
    91
    41
    25
See reviews for
110
335
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The staff was excellent, however, the room needed a bit of attention - a cabinet door that needed repair, a hole in the carpet and in the upholstery. The couch in the room was dismal. It begs to be replaced.

It was a bit pricey as well, admittedly, it was high season. If we returned, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our second visit to Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We found it to be much the same as before. It is kind of old fashioned but comfortable. The bed was great. The food is great. It just seems dark everywhere. The foyer is gloomy. The bedrooms are dark. The lighting is probably something that could be upgraded and give instant results. Other than that our stay was peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are long time fans of the two restaurants at this property and decided it was about time to stay at the hotel to see if the rooms were as good as the food. BOTTOM LINE: I won't stay here again and won't recommend it to anyone, but it wasn't horrible either. Essentially, the rooms are not good value for money, but we will definitely continue to frequent the restaurants. LOCATION: The location of the hotel is great: a quiet, secluded area outside the Banff core (a good 20 minute walk) ... careful for bears in the surrounding campgrounds. GROUNDS: The grounds are beautifully maintained and suit the environment perfectly. ROOM: We had a premier room which was very dark even at high noon and with every light on the brightest setting (don't plan on spending any time reading in your room). The carpets, walls and duvet cover were stained and filthy. The dirt was all very obvious and old and was very surprising to us that it had not been cleaned. An earlier tripadvisor reviewer commented on the same splash marks on the walls ... perhaps we were in the same unit and yet no one has made efforts to clean the unit? The room was very hot (even though it was only average summer temperatures), the walls were thin (allowing us to hear conversations and footsteps in surrounding rooms), the bed was soft (for us, but might not be a problem for others). Between the heat, noise and soft bed, we barely slept at all. The newly renovated bathroom was lovely and the shower pressure and temperature were great, but the shower stall was very small (okay for me, too small for my husband) and there were old soap bars and bobby pins on the floor from previous guests (demonstrating that the staff weren't really making much of an effort to clean). DINING: The Sleeping Buffalo dining room (main lodge) and Cilantro's (on site) were both great for food and service. STAFF: The front desk staff were inattentive and borderline rude every time we had to deal with them. The dining staff were all excellent. WIFI: I had to do some work while there and was unable to log into wifi in our room (which was very close to the lodge); I called down to the front desk and the staff member who answered the phone was clearly weary of dealing with wifi queries from guests and almost hung up on me. We then went for dinner, and I was unable to access wifi in the dining room in the main lodge. The ONLY place you can access wifi on the property is in the lobby (which has very limited seating and poor lighting). During dinner one evening we heard another guest complaining (politely but firmly) to staff about the inability to log into wifi; the staff member told the guest that wifi on the property is infrequent because of the mountain shadow, to which the guest responded that they should not tell guests on the website that they have wifi available ... if they say they have it, then have it ... if they cannot offer it, then say so. I completely agree with him. The hotel should be forthright in this, particularly because mostly North Americans rely on internet as their primary form of communication (work, boarding passes, hotel reservations, etc)

Room Tip: Ask for a premier on the second floor away from the main lodge and off of Tunnel Mountain Drive, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I do apologize for the issues you had while at the lodge. We are aware of the issues with our wifi, this is mainly due to our location within the mountains, but I can assure you we are working on improving this for a stronger connection. I have followed up with the housekeeping and front desk for your feedback on the level of cleanliness in the rooms and service at the front desk. The service you describe certainly does not meet the standard we strive for.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sleeping Buffalo and Cilantro Restaurants.

Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were intimidated by the location of BML initially as our taxi dropped us off. But later found that we could easily go to town via the ROAM bus service located about 1min away from the lodge.

The rooms were spacious, with a fabulous bathroom. The tub was a dream come true. The lack of air-conditioning might be a problem in the summer, but it was pretty chilly when we went in Jul'13 so it was okay too. WIFI Internet was pretty unstable though, as several devices simply couldn't connect to the WIFI no matter what you did.

Service was great, especially at the Front Desk and the main dining area. I have to recommend dining at the restaurant at the main lodge. Food were seasonal selections and very fresh and prepared exquisitely. The chicken breast left a strong impression on my dad who constantly went back for more. Other entrees were fab too, and the waitress, Jennifer was kind enough to replace the sides if we didn't like the ingredients. The desserts are a must have! Esp the unique tiramisu and all the homemade icecreams.The other restaurant, Cilantro though is a total miss with rude staff and food served cold.

We made a trip to Fairmount for some activities during the trip and were so glad we booked ourselves into BML instead, as the hotels were packed, rowdy and poorly staffed for the busy season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and enjoyed the bath tub. I do apologize for the level of service you received in Cilantro as this is certainly not the standard level of service we maintain. In regards to the internet connection, we are aware it can be shaky at times, this is based on our location within the mountains. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed three nights at Buffalo Mountain. The rooms are really nice, the bathrooms are great, the beds are extremely comfortable, the employees were all wonderful and friendly. I do have two comments that might not be so favorable...one is that the rooms are not well lit. While the walls are a lovely sage color, the shades on the windows and doors are a dark brown color, and the covered deck in back cuts out any natural light. So maybe a few more light fixtures would help. The bathroom needs a bit more lighting around the mirror. The other thing is that the walls are pretty thin, allowing you to hear your neighbor when they talk. The first night we spent, our next door neighbor talked with his family till after 12:30 and if we could have understood what his language was, I could tell you every word he said. It was as if they were in our room with us! Luckily, they left the next day and we didn't have the same problem with the next neighbors, if there were any. Otherwise, our stay was absolutely wonderful. There's no air conditioning, but the tower fan suppliedmin the closet works great to keep the air circulated. I suggest getting the breakfast vouchers when younreserve your room. The breakfast is great. We also had one dinner in the restaurant there, and it was fabulous. It had been a long day of travel and we loved being able to eat a wonderful meal right there. We also enjoyed drinks, appetizers and hot tea by the fireplace one afternoon in the bar area. Their salad with the goat cheese is to die for! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Buffalo mountain is only a 20 minute walk away into the center of Banff . This is in such a peaceful area ,Wonderful service in the dinning room bright and cheerful dinning area plenty of choice on the breakfast buffet.The bedroom was a little on the dark side we were on the top floor and the view was looking out onto trees that said the room had a big fireplace we did not need that but we could have done with air con 32 degrees while we were there,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.