We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodge, great location, very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Gemunden, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice Lodge, great location, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We picked out the Buffalo Mountain Lodge from pictures and reviews while still at home here in Europe. It is indeed a lovely place, well competitively priced for what is offered, has a fantastic location, and a good restaurant.

The Inn consists of some 15 or so buildings up above Banff. The views from the Inn are great, and if you request a room back off of the Tunnel Mountain Road, you will have almost no traffic noise at all, not that this is a busy street, but it is an access road for the area. We had room 817, and had a balcony that faced into the woods, with a side view down into part of Banff. The balcony furniture had not seen the maid for some weeks, but we had no time to sit there anyway.

Our room was very nice, and as you can see from the other reviews and hotel pictures, it too was outfitted with a fireplace. The Inn conveniently has extra firewood stacked up at strategic locations out front, and even up on the balcony next to our room. Interesting for me, as I also have a fireplace at home, is that each piece of wood in the fireplace had been wrapped up in newspaper to aid in starting the fire, a novel idea for me as a European, and since it worked so well, I do that at home now too. There were also a lot of small things in the room that one does not normally find, like a wine bottle corkscrew, that really came in handy and averted our purchasing another one when we picked up wine locally. The bed was good and firm, well pillowed, great comforter, so it was nice to sleep at night with an open door for that fresh cold mountain air.

My one disappointment with the room however was that some of the floor tiles around the WC in the bathroom were loose, and it appeared that they had already been loose due to water damage and amateurishly re-laid and glued once, and were loose again (photo's submitted).

Don't miss the dining room. Eat dinner there! It has a real "Lodge" atmosphere, great high ceiling, open, woody, and the food is terrific. The Chef is very imaginative, and I also have attached some photos of his edible artwork.

Will we come back? Yes, of course. I love the place......

Room Tip: Best is in a building facing the woods, or in the middle of the installation, and then facing Tunnel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overnight accomodations and the Sleeping Buffalo Restaurant. We would like to assure you that the updating of our rooms and furniture is continual process and we do appreciate you advising us of the tiles in the bathroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    212
    93
    45
    26
See reviews for
116
346
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is the perfect mountain getaway. The rustic rooms and wood burning fireplaces are cozy and romantic. Definitely recommend it! The restaurant is delicious. Fine dining, amazing flavours and great service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge and we love it here. The rooms are so cozy and intimate. The wood burning fire place was used on a few occasions. You feel like you are at your own private retreat when you are in your room. The bathroom has a claw foot bath tub that is great for soaking after a long day or skiing, hiking or just walking around town. The floors in the bathroom are also heated which is a really nice touch. The staff at the front were pleasant and courteous. The beds are very comfortable which I love because I am a bit like the princess and the pea when it comes to beds! We did not have an opportunity to eat in the dining room but I hear the food is outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overnight accomodations in our upgraded Premier rooms, as well as our friendly staff. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just returned home after an easter weekend in Banff. We were recommended to stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge from friends of ours and we DO NOT regret this decision.

We stayed in a lodge room, which was nice but you could hear the pipes and cars, which is normal, nothing is sound proof in life. We really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub.

This lodge is close enough to town, but still out of the way of the busy main street. We would definatley come back to Buffalo Mountain Lodge, but we will be upgrading to the premiere room for next time.

We really enjoyed the options they had for breakfast. Cudos on the great staff at the front desk and in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the premiere rooms. Or choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a premier room for 2 nights. The room was beautiful and clean. Heated floors were a nice touch. Large bathroom with a claw footed tub. Vaulted wood ceiling and a balcony with epic mountain views... It was gorgeous. And a stone faced fireplace with unlimited premium birch firewood!! Makes you feel like you're in a cabin in the middle of the mountains, and you pretty much are, except this one comes with great service and delicious food! The room service was quick, tasty, and fresh. All the staff were friendly and prompt. They seem to take pride in delivering great service. Everything was just perfect.

This is the only place I will stay in when I return to Banff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overnight accommodations and the room service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in room 607 2nd floor and the room was very cozy and nicely located across from the hot tub and ice machines. The staff was very friendly and the breakfasts provided from the restuarant was the perfect start to our days. The location is close to town but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.

My only complaint was the cleanliness of our room, the sheets were clean which was the most important part of the room, hence not really comlaining to the front desk but as you can see from the pictures some investments in dusters and better vacuums might be in order. I would have advised the front desk and waited to hear the question "how was your stay" but all we got was "checking out?"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just returned from a week-end stay at the Banff Mountain Lodge. We were there for a wedding and it was perfect! We stayed in room 1111 on the main floor. It was a premier king room with the upgraded bathroom. The room was very clean and the bed was wonderful. The heated bathroom floor was awesome and the big clawfoot tub was great for a soak.. There was a coffee maker and nice glass cups in the room as well as nice water & wine glasses. There was a little patio off the back door looking out on the woods/mountain with 2 chairs (although it was a little too chilly while we were there to sit out for long). We had a fire every chance we could - the fireplace made it so cozy.

The wedding venue was wonderful and all the food and drinks delicious. Every person working at the hotel was so friendly and accomodating.

The only recommendation I have for the hotel is to put a small fridge in the room as well as perhaps a bottle of water each day.

Room Tip: 2nd floor Premier room is probably the nicest with high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight accommodations and our friendly, dedicated staff. For any future stays, our Front Desk does have mini fridges that can be brought to your room upon request. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.