We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff/Great Restaurant - Needs a little help with cleanliness” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Staff/Great Restaurant - Needs a little help with cleanliness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in room 607 2nd floor and the room was very cozy and nicely located across from the hot tub and ice machines. The staff was very friendly and the breakfasts provided from the restuarant was the perfect start to our days. The location is close to town but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.

My only complaint was the cleanliness of our room, the sheets were clean which was the most important part of the room, hence not really comlaining to the front desk but as you can see from the pictures some investments in dusters and better vacuums might be in order. I would have advised the front desk and waited to hear the question "how was your stay" but all we got was "checking out?"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    221
    97
    47
    26
See reviews for
122
357
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, SK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just returned from a week-end stay at the Banff Mountain Lodge. We were there for a wedding and it was perfect! We stayed in room 1111 on the main floor. It was a premier king room with the upgraded bathroom. The room was very clean and the bed was wonderful. The heated bathroom floor was awesome and the big clawfoot tub was great for a soak.. There was a coffee maker and nice glass cups in the room as well as nice water & wine glasses. There was a little patio off the back door looking out on the woods/mountain with 2 chairs (although it was a little too chilly while we were there to sit out for long). We had a fire every chance we could - the fireplace made it so cozy.

The wedding venue was wonderful and all the food and drinks delicious. Every person working at the hotel was so friendly and accomodating.

The only recommendation I have for the hotel is to put a small fridge in the room as well as perhaps a bottle of water each day.

Room Tip: 2nd floor Premier room is probably the nicest with high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight accommodations and our friendly, dedicated staff. For any future stays, our Front Desk does have mini fridges that can be brought to your room upon request. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Bk in February this yr my daughter ad I sent a ngt at Buffalo Mntn Lodge..a mini getaway to Banff. The room itself was very average and VERY noisy! Cars revving up their engines half the night right outside the window of the ground floor room and on top of that pipes banging loudly all night! Upon check out I mentioned these points to the acting manager who was very apologetic and only charged us 50% of the room rate we were quoted. Will we stay there again?? No, never, ever ,ever! We'll stick with the Rimrock when in Banff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I do apologize that you found your room to be noisy, I can assure you we are continually working on upgrading our guest rooms. I am glad the Front Desk Manager was able to discount your room for the problems. Guests are welcome to speak with us during the course of their stay, so issues raised may be rectified and hopefully change their experience. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the best that Banff can offer. We spent the weekend at BML and had a wonderful time. The resort exudes classic mountain elegance and the staff are willing to do what ever it takes to make you feel at home. I know we will no longer be considering other options when staying in Banff. This is a year round oasis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a great and affordable place to stay in Banff. It's far enough from the centre of Banff to have a quiet and relaxing stay but close enough to drive downtown in less than 5 minutes. Their hot tub is huge and great. The rooms are also pleasant and there are fire places with ample supplies of wood.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in Banff at a Management meeting.
The Staff at this wonderful location catered to our every whim...
The food was amazing, the rooms with their wood burning fireplaces, down pillows and duvets made a perfect way to end the day...and of course the deer that greeted you in the evenings was a nice touch. It is a great location and is close to anything you may want to indulge in. Skiing, hot springs, a little mountain shopping.... or a great dinner in a great setting. One of my favorite places to get away... for any occasion.

Room Tip: The higher units have less carried noise from the units below....BUT the rooms on the ground level o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge for our wedding in February. It couldn't have been better! We had one of the upgraded rooms and it was well worth the money. Each room has a wood burning fireplace that we used each day. Our view was out over the Tunnel Mountain Resevoir (we saw a few deer around). Room service always did a detailed job. We had breakfast in the lodge, which was very good as well. BML is only about a 20 minute walk to downtown, so it was easy to get down there for dinner or drinks at night.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can. All rooms are nice, but upgrade gets you high, pine ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge and taking the time to post about your wonderful experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overnight accommodations and wood burning fireplace in our Premier rooms. Hope we can welcome you back again very soon!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.