We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best of Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the best that Banff can offer. We spent the weekend at BML and had a wonderful time. The resort exudes classic mountain elegance and the staff are willing to do what ever it takes to make you feel at home. I know we will no longer be considering other options when staying in Banff. This is a year round oasis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    230
    104
    52
    26
See reviews for
129
370
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a great and affordable place to stay in Banff. It's far enough from the centre of Banff to have a quiet and relaxing stay but close enough to drive downtown in less than 5 minutes. Their hot tub is huge and great. The rooms are also pleasant and there are fire places with ample supplies of wood.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in Banff at a Management meeting.
The Staff at this wonderful location catered to our every whim...
The food was amazing, the rooms with their wood burning fireplaces, down pillows and duvets made a perfect way to end the day...and of course the deer that greeted you in the evenings was a nice touch. It is a great location and is close to anything you may want to indulge in. Skiing, hot springs, a little mountain shopping.... or a great dinner in a great setting. One of my favorite places to get away... for any occasion.

Room Tip: The higher units have less carried noise from the units below....BUT the rooms on the ground level o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge for our wedding in February. It couldn't have been better! We had one of the upgraded rooms and it was well worth the money. Each room has a wood burning fireplace that we used each day. Our view was out over the Tunnel Mountain Resevoir (we saw a few deer around). Room service always did a detailed job. We had breakfast in the lodge, which was very good as well. BML is only about a 20 minute walk to downtown, so it was easy to get down there for dinner or drinks at night.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can. All rooms are nice, but upgrade gets you high, pine ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge and taking the time to post about your wonderful experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overnight accommodations and wood burning fireplace in our Premier rooms. Hope we can welcome you back again very soon!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a few minutes drive up Tunnel Mountain, far enough away from Banff Ave to provide more of a "cabin" feel. We had a rental car, which I think is a must for this location.

Recommendation: pay the $30/night for upgraded premium room, but only if you can get a room on the upper floor. Upper floor rooms have high, vaulted, wooden ceilings. We stayed in the 1200 range of rooms, I think the 1100s would be ideal, with best view. Also, the bathrooms in the premium rooms are spacious with heated floors & nice finishes.

The fire place, wood burning, is really nice. They provide you with a starter kit each day. Our room had a flat screen TV with DVD player. Also had nice sized deck. Wifi worked well.

We didn't eat here, too many other better options in town. I highly recommend "The Bear Street Tavern" for pizza, "The Bison" for a nice dinner, and the Fairmont breakfast buffet at least once (pricey).

The shoveling crew was cranky, front desk service was helpful. Overall, really enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: pay the $30/night for upgraded premium room, but only if you can get a room on the upper floor. Upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Looking for a romantic getaway when coincidentally ended up in Banff over Alberta family day long weekend without knowing it was a holiday. There were no towels in the change rooms for the hot tub and bottles all over the hot tub area and the stream rooms smells like mildew. The room was average, very clean but did not have a bar fridge or kitchen, did not include breakfast which other hotels do include for the same price in the area. The smoke alarm in the rooms are very sensitive and the firepit very shallow so when using the wood burning fireplace the smoke alarm would sound over and over! We could also hear other smoke alarms going off in other rooms. There is no view of the mountains from the room as the reservation agent said and when booking the resort you can not call the hotel directly rather you are funneled through hotels.com and I 800 numbers. This hotel is not in walking distance to downtown. I love Banff and the Rocky mtns. but this hotel was just over priced and nothing special.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We apologize that you did not enjoy all of the amenities our property has to offer. Our Front Desk has mini fridges that can be brought to your room upon request and our Buffalo Studios do have kitchenettes with a microwave, sink and small fridge. For future bookings, you can call the hotel directly and they can handle your reservation and reserve you a room that would better suit your needs during your stay. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Buffalo Mountain Lodge in January 2013 and we absolutely fell in love with it. I highly recommend this hotel to adventurous couples looking for a romantic getaway or a relaxing escape.
When we walked into our room for the first time, we gasped at how beautiful it was. Our room looked like a cabin on the inside, with high arched ceilings, a stone fireplace and large windows overlooking the mountains. It was so peaceful, we didnt leave our room until the next day.
The bathroom was probably my favourite part. The standing bathtub was so romantic. It was more romantic than a jacuzzi or hot tub would have been, You can even dim the lights in the bathroom to create a romantic setting.
The location of the lodge was very convenient. It was perched on the mountain above the town so it was a very short drive to downtown Banff.
I will definitely be coming back. Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities that your overnight accomodations provided. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.