We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine Meadows hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Meadows

Sunshine Meadows
Sunshine Road | Banff National Park, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Attractions in Banff
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sunshine Meadows hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Hike this in August and by far our favourite hike! So, so gorgeous at the top (so long as it's a sunny, warm day). Better than Lake Louise in our opinion....so much more natural and less crowed.
One word of caution: Even though they advertise the bus going to the top until 3:45pm. IT DOES NOT! We got there at 2:05pm and were told we just missed the last one!!!! So make sure you get there well before 2pm!
Desperate to get to the top and feeling fit at the moment, we started hiking up the road. Almost 2 gruelling hours up a dirt road with trucks (and the very bus that wasn't supposed to be going up) passing us and leaving us in the dust. Once at the chalet at the top, it's another hour hike through the beautiful meadows to the lakes and then a couple of hours around the lakes. It was still worth it for us, but we're quite fit and even then, we were sore for a couple days afterwards.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    21
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stunning alpine meadows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

This was a highlight of our late August Canadian Rockies trip, and our favorite short hike. I initially questioned whether it would be too big of a time commitment and was skeptical about reserving and paying for a bus shuttle, but both of these concerns were non-issues. I reserved the 10:00 a.m. shuttle for a weekday and it was seamless, not crowded, and well worth the expense. The hiking is quite versatile, and while we could have spent the whole day exploring, we were able to see some of the main attractions (rock isle and standish point) and be back to Banff in time for lunch. This is a must-do.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful day at Sunshine Meadows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

First of all, Sunshine Meadows is located at the top of Sunshine Village ski resort in Banff. In order to get to the top to begin the hike, it is recommended to hop on the optional shuttle at the main building. It can be booked in advance via their website. This is what we did and it was a great choice.

Once arrived at the top, you begin slowly the hike/trekking towards Sunshine Meadows. Let me tell you one thing. A couple from Calgary strongly recommended me this hike and I just can't thank them enough for this!!!

Breathtaking, Stunning and otherworldly are just a few words to describe what I had on my mind during this day.


Do not miss it if you plan to visit Banff area!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the highlights of our Banff vacation. We made reservations for the bustour through internet but were not able to print the receipt. We showed up at the ticketoffice stating that we couldn't print our reservation. It was not a problem at all, our tickets were ready.
An old schoolbus takes you uphill for five km and drops you off at Sunshine Village. After your hike you receive a token for the return.
My wife and I had the 10 am bus and started hiking at 10.30 am. It was sunny and ca 14° Celsius. Nice weather for a hike.
I would recommend doing the whole tour as shown on the map youbreceive at the ticket office. It's about 11.5 k but moderate. Only ther first 1.7 k is steep uphill.
There's a great scenery every way you look. The part of the trail which leads you to Laryx Lake en Grizzly Lake I liked the most. It is through alpine meadows with blooming flowers (although Sept. 7th) and forest.
Trails are a bit crowded.
Sunshine Meadows awaits you on a very sunny day as we had!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“MUST DO for hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Book the 2-way bus shuttle, it's well worth it! If you hike up the 5km road, your going to be exhuasted when you arrive at the village and not have much left for the trails.

I was a little skeptical about paying to go hiking, but the views on the trails are breathtaking and the trails are well maintained. Go early in the morning to avoid the masses and plan on a good 4-6 hours to enjoy all the trails have to offer.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Meadows also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sunshine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.