We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's different from our view in Banff , very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Meadows

Sunshine Meadows
Sunshine Road | Banff National Park, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 Attractions in Banff
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“it's different from our view in Banff , very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I went to the sunshine Meadows and did 3 lake hiking. The view was fantastic. Although it's raining half time there. But the view was amusing . The shuttle bus ticket was pricy ,but it's worth it . The flowers was not as much as I thought. But very coulorful. the island among the lake difinately is the king of the sunshine meadows.
Love it . Highly recommended. must go place

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    21
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wild flowers galore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The meadows are a carpet of wild flowers, and is worth taking in. This place is child friendly, and the walk through the meadows does not involve major elevation changes. You could make your destination Rock Isle Lake. Nice spot for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Called "Canada's #1 Day Hike"--and it probably really is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hike around Sunshine Meadows, to Rock Isle Lake, Grizzly Lake, Larix Lake and the Simpson Viewpoint, is simply fabulous. The flowers were becoming abundant in the second week of July, and the views of the lakes and the valleys were almost unbelievably beautiful. The hike was gentle after the first few hundred meters, and just about anyone used to walking a little for exercise could manage it. It was really a highlight of our visit to Banff and Jasper, along with Peyto Lake and the waterfalls of Beauty Creek. Getting there requires a short bus ride up the mountain from Sunshine Village, and $27 seems a bit high for the return trip, but it beats a 90 minute walk up a dusty road, and it saves your energy for the meadow hike, making it well worth the cost. This hike really should not be missed!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pay for the ride up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was reluctant to pay for the ride up to the meadow but it was worth it. The 3 lakes were beautiful and the wild flowers were blooming. We spent several hours as we hiked all 3 lakes. Trails were moderate. We did not have small children with us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must Hike!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The views are breathtaking and the hike around the 3 lakes is not too taxing. Be sure to bring some snacks and plenty of water though! The lift to the hike is pretty pricy, but well worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Meadows also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sunshine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.