We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild flowers galore!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Meadows

Sunshine Meadows
Sunshine Road | Banff National Park, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 54 Activities in Banff
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wild flowers galore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The meadows are a carpet of wild flowers, and is worth taking in. This place is child friendly, and the walk through the meadows does not involve major elevation changes. You could make your destination Rock Isle Lake. Nice spot for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    22
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Called "Canada's #1 Day Hike"--and it probably really is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hike around Sunshine Meadows, to Rock Isle Lake, Grizzly Lake, Larix Lake and the Simpson Viewpoint, is simply fabulous. The flowers were becoming abundant in the second week of July, and the views of the lakes and the valleys were almost unbelievably beautiful. The hike was gentle after the first few hundred meters, and just about anyone used to walking a little for exercise could manage it. It was really a highlight of our visit to Banff and Jasper, along with Peyto Lake and the waterfalls of Beauty Creek. Getting there requires a short bus ride up the mountain from Sunshine Village, and $27 seems a bit high for the return trip, but it beats a 90 minute walk up a dusty road, and it saves your energy for the meadow hike, making it well worth the cost. This hike really should not be missed!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pay for the ride up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was reluctant to pay for the ride up to the meadow but it was worth it. The 3 lakes were beautiful and the wild flowers were blooming. We spent several hours as we hiked all 3 lakes. Trails were moderate. We did not have small children with us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Must Hike!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The views are breathtaking and the hike around the 3 lakes is not too taxing. Be sure to bring some snacks and plenty of water though! The lift to the hike is pretty pricy, but well worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Hike in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was skeptical that hiking in a ski area could be any good, but once you hike about a mile and get out of the resort area we found ourselves in an astonishingly beautiful alpine meadow. There were patches of snow left, even in July, but nothing we couldn't hike over.

The most obvious hike is up to three lakes - the trail goes up to the left behind the ski lodge and tops out at the first lake. There are well marked trails around the second and third lakes. One of the footbridges was washed out so our 6 and 8 year old kids enjoyed the thrill of a river crossing (very cold water!). It took us 3.5 hours to complete the 8km loop.

Buses run every hour to the top, starting at 8am, and the buses down are on the half hour, again running each hour. It was relatively expensive for what is a 5km drive in an old school bus up a trail, but it gives you rapid elevation gain and takes you high into the alpine meadow which is great. Especially if you have kids with a limited hiking range.

On reflection I think this hike was my favorite of the ten or so half day hikes we did in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Meadows also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sunshine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.