We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Meadows

Sunshine Meadows
Sunshine Road | Banff National Park, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1J5, Canada
4037627889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 61 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We snowshoed here with Michael from White Mountain Adventures. It was such a great experience. There had just been 6+ inches of fresh powder and Michael took us on a non- trail adventure, where we had lots of opportunities to run down powder hills. Michael was a pleasure to have as a guide because he paid attention to our needs and also clearly loves being in the mountains.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    34
    6
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Snowshoed In Winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spectacular viewes. Snowshoeing is a great way to experience Sunshine Meadows. We've never been here in the summer but it was so wonderful in winter. We did a snowshoe tour with White Mountain Adventures

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Hike in the Canadian Rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have been privileged to hike many of the trails in and around Sunshine Meadows many times. The bus ride up is an adventure itself! Once arriving at the day lodge the hiking is endless and the views breathtaking! Whether you are looking for a simple hike or an all day trek you Sunshine Meadows will make for the perfect day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“One of the best hikes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is one of the best and least visited hikes in Banff. After a nice bus ride from the base of the ski area, the hike starts with a steep climb to the area above the condos. The the view begins to open up. From then on you see views of nearby lakes and mountains near and up to 30 miles away. As you travel down to other lakes the Larches trees are turning yellow and the mountains reflect on the lake. Superb views all around.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning place in Autumn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Well worth a visit once the road is accessible again. If you can time it with the larches turning golden, it is absolutely stunning. We parked in the lot of Sunshine Village, then bought our tickets and took the school bus up to the ski field. There is a place there with washrooms and sandwiches/drinks to buy. The walks are varied, but gentle after an initial steep climb. The scenery is beautiful: lakes, wildflowers, larches, and distant mountain peaks. Favourite autumn hike in Banff!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Meadows also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sunshine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.