We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place in Autumn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Meadows

Sunshine Meadows
Sunshine Road | Banff National Park, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 attractions in Banff
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning place in Autumn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Well worth a visit once the road is accessible again. If you can time it with the larches turning golden, it is absolutely stunning. We parked in the lot of Sunshine Village, then bought our tickets and took the school bus up to the ski field. There is a place there with washrooms and sandwiches/drinks to buy. The walks are varied, but gentle after an initial steep climb. The scenery is beautiful: lakes, wildflowers, larches, and distant mountain peaks. Favourite autumn hike in Banff!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's beautiful but cannot get there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Sorry just can't get there this summer road is washed out due to floods parks say they think it will be ready by ski season. I,m hopeful for next summer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We really love this hike, but its worth booking an early bus if you want a nice relaxed day up there. You can book online or by phone.

Currently the website says closed until at least Aug 11, and possibly longer due to flood damage to the access road, which is very sad! :(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We got off the highway and ran into a gate. It turns out the flood ruined the road. Someone told us it may be close through the end of the summer and beyond.
This was going to be one of the highlights for us. I wish they had posted some notices at the entrance to the park. Or maybe they did and we missed it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Trail is closed until early-mid August 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family took some convincing to hike 13 km but when we got off the Highway 1 Exit there was a big sign saying road to Sunshine is closed (flood damage), Instead we went to Sulphur Mountain which was great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Meadows also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sunshine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunshine Meadows to your Saves list