We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day-out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Meadows

Sunshine Meadows
Sunshine Road | Banff National Park, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 attractions in Banff
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
oosterzele
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Lovely day-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Some 10 km on the hwy 1 south of banff take the road to the sunshine meadows ticket sale . There. is a hugh parking lot. In summer only every jour a bus to the start of the meadows walk.
We did the walk of the tree major lakes. After the beautiful loop passing Simpson viewpoint and two lakes there is a must do action. Climb to the Standish viewpoint. Possible for every one and not so long (15 min). The reward is Hugh. What a panorama and place for super pictures of the meadows and his lakes. We took the same way back (total distance :9 km). After the Standish viewpoint you can continu the walk and make the whole loop. Time : included picknick 4 to 6 hours. Level : Easy Attention : look for the flowers !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    17
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Snowshoe trip in Sunshine Meadows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went on a snowshoeing tour to Sunshine Meadows. This was our second time to take this tour. We went with White Mountain Adventures Tours. Wonderful experience. Would highly recommend. You get the opportunity to see an area that you probably wouldn't venture to otherwise. The guides are wonderful, very informative and it is breathtakingly BEAUTIFUL!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Natural Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've grown up in Calgary, so all my life I've been to the mountains.
Sunshine is consistently one of the best resorts for ski or snowboard and that is due to the all natural snow status.
The area is blanketed in natural beauty second to none and the Village up the mountain is quaint, quiet and secluded. There are places to to eat, drink and relax whilst up on top.
The Gondola DOES NOT RUN all hours of the nite, so if you're looking to go to Banff for the evening you need to be aware that the Gondola will stop running about 5:30ish.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I booked a half day private guided hike in September 2012. We had perfect weather, and the best hike of my life to date.. While it wasn't cheap, it was the highlight of our Canada holiday.

We are quite active, outdoors people, but also were a bit daunted by alpine hiking (being from Australia), so we wanted a guided hike. The best thing about a guided hike (other than the general confidence of having a knowledge guide with bear spray), was the ability to go off-trail. We hiked across meadows, up Quartz ridge (a real climb!), and were taken to places with stunning views. Once we left the main trail, we didn't see a single other person.

I wouldn't recommend Sunshine Meadows for people who don't have a reasonable level of fitness, but neither do you have to be an experienced hiker. If you get a guide, they will tailor the hike to your fitness and ability- our hike was perfect for us- made us feel challenged, but always safe and within our limits. We were rather exhausted when we got back to Banff!

If you don't want to pay for a guide, there appeared to be some well marked trails which allow people unfamiliar with the area to still do some decent half day hikes.

If you are going in September, make sure you take food with you- the cafe wasn't properly open and choices were limited.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“amazing views - perfect for a warm summer day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

sunshine meadows falls on the great divide - where you cross from alberta to BC. A great chance to visit two provinces in one day. The hikes range from easy to expert. Just remember to book the bus early as it is the only way to access the meadows!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Meadows also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sunshine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.