We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views - perfect for a warm summer day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Meadows

Sunshine Meadows
Sunshine Road | Banff National Park, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 55 Activities in Banff
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“amazing views - perfect for a warm summer day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

sunshine meadows falls on the great divide - where you cross from alberta to BC. A great chance to visit two provinces in one day. The hikes range from easy to expert. Just remember to book the bus early as it is the only way to access the meadows!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    22
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinatti, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

You have to take the bus to get to the top, which does go on strange schedule and costs about 90$ for the family of four. You don't need to buy anything in advance, just walk in and buy the tickets when you arrive. We got to the parking area at 10:30 to get to 11:00 bus, but we still managed to get inside 10am bus that was about half full. Trails are well managed and worth the visit in mid-late July when all the flowers are in peak blossom. We got there in August and it seems we have missed the best time to visit, but it was still a great place for the afternoon walk and worth the price of bus ride.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“surprise at the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved this hike the best. Did it with kids (8 and 4) loved the views. There were no flowers when we went but it was beautiful nonetheless. Less popular therefore there were hardly any people around. Would strongly recomend it. Spectacular 360 degree views. There is a bus ride involved after you park your car. Take mosquito repellant if going summer.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Mountain Meadows Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

During the summer thus ski village turns into an amazing mountain meadow hiking experience. Well maintained trails with numerous day hike options make this a must do when in Banff.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great! But it isn't effort free.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We did this trip towards the end of September and were rewarded with clear skies,golden larches and spectacular views. The ride on the shuttle bus eliminates the real hard work of getting out of the valley and drops you high in the alpine region.The only thing I would add to other reviews though, is that once there, the hiking is not completely effortless. By Rockies standards it isn't difficult, but by the time you have climbed up from the main ski lodge (where the shuttle bus drops you), descended to the lakes on the other side, maybe climbed to the lookout, and then completed the circuit, the amount of uphill hiking must be not far short of 1500 feet.
We got the impression that some people on our shuttle bus thought they would get the fantastic views as soon as they got off the bus. Certainly quite a few of them didn't tackle the first quite steep climb out of the ski lodge bowl, so they didn't get the views.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Meadows also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sunshine Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Meadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.