We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queues say it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of COWS Banff

COWS Banff
134 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada (Formerly Cows Ice Cream)
403 760 3493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Dessert
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Queues say it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having been to the shop in Whistler we headed straight in as soon as we saw this one and were not disappointed.The queues to get served can be a bit on the long side but they are there for a reason - it's worth the wait. Quite expensive but very good. Spoil yourself!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    46
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I like going here for ice cream because of the wide selections and also the new slogans they come up with on the t shirts that are for sale. Very original!

Curious Cows + Cold Steel = Long Lift Lines! (Check out the store and you will get what I mean.)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was some of the best ice cream we have ever had. We went to Cows several times while we were in Banff and tried a different flavor each visit. The shop is lots of fun with hilarious shirts and other items for sale. There was only one person working, but he was pretty fast and we did not have to wait too long.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ice cream is very good but expensive. Enjoyed looking at all their cow themed merchandise. Had been to Cows in PEI so wanted to have have more of their ice cream.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good, not great, and pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Sorry, but I compare this shop to Ivanacone in Lincoln, NE, USA, and it is a weak second.
Ice cream is good. But shop is laid out to sell stuff more than ice cream, such that even if there was sufficient staff (we were in twice and staffing marginal both times), it would be difficult to serve more efficiently.
Ice cream selections are good, but not truly creative. Do be prepared for a cost that rivals Ben and Jerry's in major airports.
Most of all, The waffle cones are not being made fresh, which makes all the difference in the world-- the smell alone would transform the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed COWS Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to COWS Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage COWS Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.