We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ice cream, ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of COWS Banff

COWS Banff
134 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada (Formerly Cows Ice Cream)
403 760 3493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Dessert
BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best ice cream, ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

finally after 12 years i was able to get back for some cows ice cream. discovered it on pei. only the best ice cream in the world! love their quaint , humorous t-shirts. even though it was 10:30 a.m. i just had to have some!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    46
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream for a Hot Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were given four ice cream vouchers by friends, and went to try this place. The store is always packed with people, on some days there were long line-ups for ice cream. The cones were delicious! Probably full of calories! The other side of the store sells very funny cow t-shirts that are parodies of well-known movies and funny situations.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mooooo over calories!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

08/25/12 - 08/30/12 - Oh my goodness, this ice cream is awesome! I had the chocolate cone but i cant remember what flavor but it was good!!! I told my calories to move over cuz i didnt care!!! Mmmmm good! I recommend stopping by this one! They also have clothing of the Cows Ice Cream for adults and kiddos!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fun Ice Cream Shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Be sure to stop in to Cows Ice Cream in Banff. The ice cream is great, and the kids loved looking at all the cow themed items, especially the shirts.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fun Place for premium ice cream in unique flavor combinations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had never heard of Cows before this visit to Banff. Place was fun, ice cream was in unique flavor combos. One suggestion, creative names of the ice cream on the overhead board, do not really reflect what is in the flavor. To discover that requires bucking the line and the crowd to rear\dthe small description cards above each container. This seems to slow the line. But it did not keep us from visiting twice over a four night stay

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed COWS Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to COWS Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage COWS Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.