We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy night,old and small room, but quite cheap and clean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tan - Y - Bryn B&B

Tan - Y - Bryn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tan - Y - Bryn B&B
118 Otter St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy night,old and small room, but quite cheap and clean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I spent some days in Canada and I love their b&b, but this one was absolutely the worst because of the very snob owner and the condition of house. I didn't sleep all night because of noisy of the old fridge and air system that worked all night. The room was little and datated, but clean. There wasn't a breakfast room so I must had it in room! Allover the b&b was clean and cheap but I found better b&b at the same cost and in similar location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

While other B&B's have been more luxurious, this was was fairly decent for the price. The rooms were clean, the host was nice, and the breakfast was okay (croissant, tea, jam). Whiles the bathrooms are shared, they were clean. The location is very good (few minutes from the main street). Definitely worth staying at if looking for good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The B&B is located quite close to the main town area - about 5 mins walk. The room is fairly small but sufficient for the budget conscious traveller - smallish queen bed, no TV or microwave, just a fridge. Breakfast is satisfactory and the hostess is very warm. The shared toilets are not such a big issue as there are two of them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

Tan y bryn is an awesome value option in expensive Banff. We stayed for three nights and our total bill was less than the nightly rate for most hotels. It is well located off the main street, close enough to walk, but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Mrs Cowan, the proprietor has been running the b and b for decades. As a result, the service is good, although the decor in the rooms could really do with an update. The biggest turn off for most would be the shared bathroom, but for the price you can't complain. In addition all rooms were very clean, there was easy car parking and the breakfast was good

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the end of July 2011. This was a terrific value. We paid 83.39 CAD a night for room 6 with two full beds. We shared two bathrooms with another room on the same floor. It was only the two of us but the the only other room available had two twin beds. The wood paneling was dated and the bed was honestly not as comfortable as a nice hotel bed, but the savings were definitely worth it. Each morning Mrs. Cowan served us our choice juice along with tea or coffee as well as a croissant and buttered toast with preserves. My wife was a big fan of the toast. It is necessary to make a reservation via email and send a deposit for the first night but these are minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed in Banff for 3 days (too short!). The owner of Tan-Y-Bryn, Mrs Cowan, is lovely, talkative and open. I stayed in the double bed with my own bathroom. It was cosy, comfortable and best of all, conveniently located a few blocks from the main st, Banff Avenue. It was quite good value, considering the ridiculous prices of Banff.
The breakfasts are quite yum and Mrs Cowan goes out of her way to make sure it is according to your liking.
I hope to go back to Banff in the future, and I would definitely stay with Tan-Y-Bryn again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here from the 19th to 27th Jan. We had breakfast brought to our room every morning, the room was a bit dated but really warm and cosy. The bed was comfy and it was only 2 streets back from Banff Avenue. We paid $60 a night and it was well worth it as all the other B&B's and hotels were much more expensive. Would definatly return here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tan - Y - Bryn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan - Y - Bryn B&B

Address: 118 Otter St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan - Y - Bryn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tan - Y - Bryn B&B to your Saves list