We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the basics” 2 of 5 stars
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
King Edward Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just the basics”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Since you're in Banff, you're probably not going to spend much time in your room, so this is basically ok. But the room is very small, with beat up furniture and a tiny tub. No closet, no drawers for clothes and a very small bed. Their attempt at room decor is bizarre with oriental, modern and early American all taking a turn. Had to tell the clerk that wi-fi was down, though she took care of it. You take a filthy elevator to the rooms. Being right on the main street was not a plus to me especially when you have to park your car 3 blocks away. For one night--we were so lucky it didn't rain.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    35
    12
    21
See reviews for
15
48
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Cache, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was touring some friends through Banff (I am from Jasper) and we booked on Hotwire.com. We accidentally booked for 2 people instead of 4 as we were booking from our phones. Upon arrival, they basically told us we were hooped and that if we called Hotwire they would instruct them not to refund or move us. They offered us a room in a hostel which they also managed, and we agreed upon a price. Once arriving at the hostel, they wanted $178 for one night!! AT A HOSTEL!! We ended up booking a totally different hotel, and King Edward charged us full price for not using the room. I travel to Banff a lot for work, and would never support this business. I intend to share with colleagues as well. I am very disappointed in the way we were treated.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

-welcomed by new mattresses being hauled in to every room. first thought: bedbugs. Googled bedbugs and the King Eddie...definite bedbug problem in the past. we experienced no bedbug problems, however
-blankets sucked. AC was really cold and the blankets were so thin and worn. room got too hot when we turned off the AC
-thin walls. heard everything and everyone day and night
-room was never cleaned. away from the room between 9am to 4pm. cleaning cart was outside of room when we got back to the hotel. hotel cleaning staff said that our room was next. it really bothered us because there are only 30ish rooms in the entire building and the hotel didn't seem like it was very busy (stayed during the week). we told her that we didn't have time to wait, as we had dinner reservations for 5. she offered to change our towels. very disappointed in the lack of time management.
-had to pay for parking
-hallway carpets had some pretty nasty looking stains
-there were no locks on the door in our room, just a chain. definitely didn't like that.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for. if you're just looking for a place to sleep for cheap, this is your ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, Holland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pro's - well equipped (flatscreen TV, coffeemaker, mini fridge, clock radio), great location (room at the back, not on noisy front street), good WiFi, neat & clean
Con's - no parking (public parking nearby, 5h free), dated rooms, no airco, lightswitches don't work
Dated but still reasonable value for money due to location

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My son and I stayed here for 5 nights early April 2014. The rooms are small but there were clean sheets on the bed (remove the top cover as this wasn't clean). The bathroom was clean and the shower was good. It is perfectly located for all the trails, shops and restaurants. The reception staff were all (without exception) helpful and pleasant. The maid service was fine. If I'm honest, after 5 nights I was glad to be moving on as back was hurting slightly (due to not great mattress). If you just want a base then this really is perfect and my son and I found it quite adequate. If you want any luxury or home comforts then pay more to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front street and had no trouble with noise as mentioned in some earlier reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed in March 2014 for two weeks and it was perfect for me! Cheapest hotel available and the location is unbeatable, right in the centre of Banff, a minute walk to the ski bus stop and right in the middle of all the shops, restaurants and bars. As others have said, the hotel isn't fancy, but the room was cleaned daily and had all the amenities which those on a budget really appreciate, eg, free wifi, a fridge in the room, microwave upstairs, flat screen tv, hairdryer, shampoos and shower gels.
I can't comment on the noise as others have done; as a young person on holiday in Banff I was probably causing the noise - but if you're spending your evenings in Banff inside the hotel then you're doing it wrong anyway!
The staff at reception were pleasant when checking in and out, and the only other time I came into contact with staff was to say that the wifi was down, and it was fixed instantly.
I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to any traveler looking to make the most out of their time in Banff

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed here several times. It's such a good place to stay! Great location (right on Banff Ave.) and supplies parking during your stay. It isn't fancy by any means but it has your basic needs! It is clean, has all the necessities and has all the pubs, restaurants and stores right out your doorstep! Definitely one of the cheapest hotels in Banff but definitely a great place to stay if you want to save a fews bucks on cabs and hotels!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.