We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for first time Banff-Explorers!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
King Edward Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good for first time Banff-Explorers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Me and my boyfriend decided to go to Banff as a mini getaway. We spent two days and one night in Banff and decided that with our budgets, the King Edward Hotel would suit our needs. The location is VERY convenient as it is right in the middle of downtown Banff. Just down the block there was a Lululemon and many other clothing stores. Parking is a little inconvenient as you have to walk about a block to get to the parkade for hotel guests but we did not mind as it gave us a chance to explore. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming...not to mention they were very helpful and more than happy to assist my boyfriend who wanted to have rose petals spread out on the bed! Our room had one queen bed and it our view looked out onto the main downtown street which was nice! The rooms weren't over the top or anything special but did the trick for us as we weren't spending much time there, but instead exploring! Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to spend more time out of the hotel than in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    31
    35
    12
    21
See reviews for
15
48
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The too small bed, room are very very small, and very over priced. At over $350 a night far a small room & too small bed . There are other Hotel close to downtown for a lot cheaper with too twin bed. They put some brown foam on top of the bed too make theme more comfortable, but it give you a bad feeling, if you know what I mean. I ting its time for them too buy new bed. The room as only too very small window 1Ft, wide. Considering that we were there for the view. Remember too book early. Banff is a tourist destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The King Edward is located in hub of activity in downtown Banff. This location, although convenient, can be noisy since it's right on the main street The hotel is quite old, showing its age, and the rooms are in need of upgrades. The lobby is not staffed during the late night hours. Secured parking for an additional $5 is quite reasonable. Parking for check-in, check-out can be a challenge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

In comparison to other accommodations in Banff, this is an older facility. The rooms are small and nothing fancy, but they have a fridge, microwave, and are clean. Right in the centre of downtown Banff, this is a fantastic location & much cheaper than others in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We paid 121 CAD as it was high season. Room ok, bathroom ok, beds hard with a cheap feel. TV worked fine as did most other room fitting and fixtures. Afraid I can't get much more passionate then that about the place. Guess the location is the plus point among the averageness of all else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. Clean. Beautiful rooms. We were in a family of four. Large and spacious. Great price. Excellent location in the city center on the main street. There is parking in the garage.we mean to be one night and we stayed too nights

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

very large room, king size bed, view on the street and mountains, rather calm location in the center of Banff.
very close free public parking, large choice of restaurants and stores nearby
good value for money in Banff

but

noisy air conditionning impossible to trim or stop, few pieces of furnitures : no table, just one chair

Room Tip: street side better for the view even if some late activity there may be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.