We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Edward Hotel

Save Saved
You added King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
King Edward Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We paid 121 CAD as it was high season. Room ok, bathroom ok, beds hard with a cheap feel. TV worked fine as did most other room fitting and fixtures. Afraid I can't get much more passionate then that about the place. Guess the location is the plus point among the averageness of all else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    31
    7
    19
See reviews for
13
40
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. Clean. Beautiful rooms. We were in a family of four. Large and spacious. Great price. Excellent location in the city center on the main street. There is parking in the garage.we mean to be one night and we stayed too nights

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

very large room, king size bed, view on the street and mountains, rather calm location in the center of Banff.
very close free public parking, large choice of restaurants and stores nearby
good value for money in Banff

but

noisy air conditionning impossible to trim or stop, few pieces of furnitures : no table, just one chair

Room Tip: street side better for the view even if some late activity there may be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- budget hotel with private one bedroom with WiFi for below $100 per night;
- WiFi was speedy;
- Location is just perfect. Close to shopping district (15 seconds walk), eateies (30 seconds walk) and river (1 minute walk);
- close to free parkade (2 minutes walk)

Cons:
- Noisy bed;
- very noisy corridors. If you intend to catch up on some sleep, use ear plugs;
- Noisy streets at night. Our windows were closed and still we heard ppl talking and having fun on streets in our second floor room.

All in all a decent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very friendly front desk employee. Right in the middle of Banff. Large flat-screen TV. Our room was clean enough, but...
I would tend to believe those who had bed bugs, as I did find one dead bug under the sheets (considering some reviews, I looked carefully before unpacking anything). Can hear people in hallways pretty well, and considering the price level of the hotel compared to other hotels in that area, I don't find it hard to believe that 3am partyers might make noise coming back to their room, though it wasn't the case for me. Access to room floors is restricted to guests by having to insert room key in elevator though, which was a good thing.

Room Tip: Inspect the bed carefully, on and under the sheets, to make sure you have no bed bugs, and keep your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 while on a road trip through western Canada and the USA. I've been to Banff a few times before and always stayed at the Mount Royal across the street for double the price. The King Edward is an very good budget alternative. The location is excellent - right down town and close to everything. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though a bit older and perhaps on the smaller side of average. Not that we minded as it really was just a place to sleep. Overall, the Kind Edward is a great place to stay for young travellers, and those wanting to save some money for everything else that beautiful Banff has to offer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

this is a great hotel just walk out of the lobby and you are downtown to everything ! great staff also very helpful , nice room, very comfortable,very clean,the room was quite,we would stay at this hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.