We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Basic Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
King Edward Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheap, Basic Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for three nights off season. The bed I was in was incredibly static - I had sparks coming off of me every time I moved in it (very unpleasant). The coffee cups supplied were styrofoam. Other than that, nothing really to complain about. Very good locations; however, the street outside can be very noisy, especially on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    44
    40
    14
    24
See reviews for
19
56
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We paid $70 for a small room overlooking main street. Small room but extremely comfortable. We were missing the remote for our TV and the staff went down the road to buy a new one compatible with the TV.

Very helpful! We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are very small with little windows but what view is available of the main road is very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good thing i checked out their 2 double beds. The beds are tiny and the room is small.
We went for the family room which was fair.
Good location and price was ok. Beds weren't that comfy. Rooms need renos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked this hotel through an online provider. The rate was low considering it was Banff. Overall the experience was ok, but the rooms were small and very simple. It was obvious that there had been very little updating done in this hotel. Reminded me more of a rooming house, except you had your own washroom. We are not ones to pay big money to stay in posh accomodations seeing that we usually try and spoend as little time in the hotel as possible so we were OK with the rooms based on the rate.

Overall clean and friendly and right on the main street in banff so close to restaurants, coffee shops and shopping.

Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Not really a factor, but a room with a woindow to the main street would be nice if you want to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the King Edward to attend a business function in town. Was enticed by the central location & attractive rates, but the convenience & savings were not worth going through the hassle & angst of dealing with a bed-bug infestation.

To the credit of the staff/mangement, the cost of my entire 3-night stay was refunded but it sure didn't appear as though they were at all surprised by my news that my room had bed-bugs.

This place needs to be condemned!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As others have written, yes, it is a bit old and in need of a makeover; however, for one night, my sister and I didn't have much of a problem here. We had a room overlooking Banff Avenue and when we shut the window, no noise. Very nice. No bedbug issues with us. The bathroom was fine too although the towels were a bit on the thin side. Parking in the parking lot behind the hotel for $5 (underground spots). Not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had low expectations of this hotel so we were not surprised to find the accommodations were adequate but somewhat run down. We were in town on the weekend and felt lucky to find a place to lay our heads, period. It was nice to find the hotel had a flat screen TV as many places of this type still have very small TVs. We enjoyed the windows in our room (two single beds, all they had left) that faced the main street The location of this hotel is good and the $5 parking fee was certainly reasonable. A drawback, however, is that you can't be guaranteed a spot to unload/load your luggage.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the main street if possible. We had to sleep with the window cracked to be cool e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.