We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOPE YOU ENJOY BEDBUGS!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of King Edward Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
King Edward Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HOPE YOU ENJOY BEDBUGS!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the King Edward to attend a business function in town. Was enticed by the central location & attractive rates, but the convenience & savings were not worth going through the hassle & angst of dealing with a bed-bug infestation.

To the credit of the staff/mangement, the cost of my entire 3-night stay was refunded but it sure didn't appear as though they were at all surprised by my news that my room had bed-bugs.

This place needs to be condemned!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    38
    37
    13
    22
See reviews for
16
51
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As others have written, yes, it is a bit old and in need of a makeover; however, for one night, my sister and I didn't have much of a problem here. We had a room overlooking Banff Avenue and when we shut the window, no noise. Very nice. No bedbug issues with us. The bathroom was fine too although the towels were a bit on the thin side. Parking in the parking lot behind the hotel for $5 (underground spots). Not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had low expectations of this hotel so we were not surprised to find the accommodations were adequate but somewhat run down. We were in town on the weekend and felt lucky to find a place to lay our heads, period. It was nice to find the hotel had a flat screen TV as many places of this type still have very small TVs. We enjoyed the windows in our room (two single beds, all they had left) that faced the main street The location of this hotel is good and the $5 parking fee was certainly reasonable. A drawback, however, is that you can't be guaranteed a spot to unload/load your luggage.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the main street if possible. We had to sleep with the window cracked to be cool e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you want more I'm sure the The Fairmont Banff Springs has a room for you. For the price it's sufficient ! We stayed in a room with two single beds.
Clean, central location. Limited parking thou! If you want guaranteed parking you'll have to pay $5 extra. But even that is limited. I don't know if you could reserve that but I would if you wanna make sure. Still good. :)))
We had front view rooms. Had some drunks singing at bars closing but how can you avoid that? It's Banff. So don't complain but pull out your valet and the The Fairmont Banff Springs as I said still an option....
:)))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the King Edward Hotel, August 4th and 5th. and had a very good stay. Yes the Hotel is old, and the rooms are a little run down but, we found it clean and comfortable. The room had a good fridge, a 40" Flat screen T.V., a coffee maker and although the window's are small, a great view of the mountains.
The location is probably the best in Banff, close to restaurants, shops, clubs and hiking trails.
I would have no problem staying there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie5Doo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place was just fine for us. The rooms were average, as was the service. No complaints. We found this was the least expensive room available at the time and are more than satisfied with our stay.

The location is perfect. Right in the heart of downtown. This explains why there is a lack of parking. But there's a Parkade right behind it. People are too whiny, they want parking right at the front door... but this is Banff people, there's a lack of space.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

You can't beat the location: right smack in the middle of downtown, much better than the location of the provide hotels further up Banff Ave. Walk to shops, restaurants, trails, etc. Rooms are slightly rundown and shabby, but they are also clean and reasonably sized. A good value for a pricey town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Edward Hotel

Address: 137 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Edward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.