We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers and a gluten free option that doesn't suck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eddie Burger & Bar

Eddie Burger & Bar
#6 137 Banff Av, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
(403) 762-2230
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great burgers and a gluten free option that doesn't suck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Small place, just off the main drag. This is your classic gourmet burger place, pricey but good.
If options are your thing, they have pretty much every type of topping save Peanut Butter.
Gluten free patty option as well as a rice-type bun that is pretty close to a normal bun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    115
    88
    23
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Wasted dinner out - beware of GARLIC IN the burgers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a local. It's SMALL inside, but seems like a very happening place. We had a nice server who really took her time helping us decide which local beer to try.
When it came to ordering burgers, we talked with her in great detail, asking if they put a lot of salt/spices on their burgers and asking her to have them omit it for us. My husband asked, point blank, do they infuse the meat with any seasonings? "No" was the answer, so we ordered 2 burgers and 2 sides of sweet potato fries (again, asked for no seasoning).
We waited 40 minutes for the burgers to arrive and before the plate even hit the table, I smelled garlic. We took one bite and confirmed that yes, these things had garlic all the way through them. Well, we can't stand garlic flavoring on a burger, and had TRIED to find out beforehand how they made their burgers, so there we were....tired from a day of hiking and too late to go anywhere else. We ate the fries and left. They did remove the charge for the burgers (not the fries), but we left there feeling pissed that we had wasted one of our 3 nights out at this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best poutine in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

There's another place in town that claims to have the best poutine west of Montreal and I thought it was pretty good. But in my opinion, Eddie Burger & Bar has the best poutine in Banff. Highly recommend this place if you're looking for a good selection of beer and some killer poutine! Didn't try a burger but if it's anything like the poutine, you can't go wrong.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Walked by several times while in town without much interest in getting "a burger"...finally dove in the next-to-last evening we were in town strictly due to convenience (close to parking garage). Wow! We were pleasantly surprised at the creative variety and quality of the burger. Quite possibly the best burger I've ever eaten.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Three of us went to Eddies for lunch. It is pretty small but we were lucky enough to get a table in the back. Some of the seats looked very uncomfortable. I ordered one of their burger specials which was very good and my grand-daughter enjoyed her meal. My husband ordered a plain burger. It was almost black and very tough, he ate about half but could not finish it. Service was good. They should make sure the food is not burnt before serving it. Would not return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie Burger & Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Eddie Burger & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eddie Burger & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.