We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Concept. Terrible electronics” 1 of 5 stars
Review of GyPSy Guide

GyPSy Guide
215 Banff Ave. | Sundance Mall, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
+1 866-477-4171
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$33*
and up
Ranked #5 of 24 Tours & Activities in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GPS Triggered Commentary Tours. Listen to stories, tips and advice for what to see and do on scenic drives throughout Western Canada, Maui and Las Vegas. GyPSy Guide is a small device that you rent by the day and it automatically plays commentary on the best things to see and do as they come into view, through your vehicle stereo. A team of professional tour guides has filled GyPSy Guide with stories about past explorers, where to watch for wildlife and locals advice so you don’t miss any of the best attractions and sightseeing. The audio is recorded by real people and plays as you drive, just like listening to the radio.
Parkes, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Concept. Terrible electronics”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hired at Vancouver for 21 days at a cost of $480. Expensive. Would have been worth it if we could have used it, but the high pitched hum prevented it being left on because it drove us crazy. DO NOT hire this thing if you hire a late model car because it is random which car it works with according to the agent. We did stop in at Banff (out of the way) and attempt a replacement unit, which was actually worse. So turned it off for the rest of the trip. Maybe the Apps might be a better option but I cant comment on them. The GYPSY guide you hire from the airport? Well DONT. Its hit and miss if it works and once youve left the City, you are stuck with it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FromGypsyGuide, Manager at GyPSy Guide, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Sorry to hear you didn't have a fantastic time like the vast majority of our clients. For those reading, we encourage you to call our toll free number if you require any assistance with the set up and operation of the GyPSy Guide. We are always anxious to help and make sure you have the best experience possible. We have locations in Vancouver and Calgary as well as the 3 towns in the Canadian Rockies where 99% of our clients are traveling.
We are a little confused by your experience since we remember the assistance we provided you
When our representative met with you in person with a replacement kit, the audio was crystal clear quality. We are really not sure why you report that sound quality after that was poor. We are disappointed that your experience wasn't of the level we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    24
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Downloaded the apps onto our phone. Absolutely made the trip. Very informative and showed us parts of the park we never would have seen.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The perfect tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We downloaded gypsy guide to our iPad before we arrived in Vancouver. The gypsy guide was fantastic not only was it fun it bought our attention to many locations and wonderful sights that we may have just driven straight past. It was accurate and informative and best of all we could take our time exploring in the motor home we were travelling in. We would definitely recommend GyPSy guide and can't wait to use it next time we visit Canada

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great addition to a road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I came across the guide on-line and thought it would add an extra element to the trip.
We picked our gypsy guide up at Vancouver airport, quick and easy collection from the visitor centre.
We were driving from Vancouver to Calgary via Hope, Jasper and Banff - a trip we did in reverse a few years ago,

The audio on the guide took a while to work out, eventually found an audio input in the storage unit in the car, once connected it worked a treat.

The guide became a great companion, lots of stories, tips and interesting commentary. We would have missed out on several great stops and places of interest without it.

Well worth the money

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our best decision was to get Gypsy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband happened upon Gypsy Guide as we researched what to do in Sept 2013. For a mere $18, he loaded Gypsy to his newer IPad, an iPad with a built in GPS. We listened to it for 6 days, all day! We learned about geology, history, must see places, etc. it was great at direction, like a super-gps, telling us when to turn, but always saying where we would end up by going straight. We felt our trip was so much better than it might have been without this guide. One problem we had was not being able to use it through speakers. We forgot some cable. At full volume we could easily hear though. Husband probably appreciated wife having to remain silent for the tour!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GyPSy Guide also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to GyPSy Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GyPSy Guide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.