We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very leisurely brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Bistro

The Juniper Bistro
1 Juniper Way | Mt. Norquay Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1E1, Canada (Formerly Juniper Bistro & Lounge)
+1 866-551-2281
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Juniper Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 133 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The wall-to-wall glass at the Juniper Bistro looks out over one of the most renowned vistas in North America. Join us for locally-inspired food that's the ideal complement to a day of hiking, cycling, skiing, or downtown shopping. Our meals are homemade and decadent, crafted to include our most treasured Canadian classics along with new discoveries inspired by worldwide travels. From our in-house bakery to the spirit of our menu, our chefs are proud to create delicious meals with a handcrafted and sustainable spirit.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very leisurely brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our small wedding party of eight had brunch at the Juniper on Saturday, May 24. Luckily, we weren't in a hurry, because the food, while excellent, took an hour to arrive. Given that we were the only patrons, and we had only ordered breakfast items (eggs benny, waffles, etc.), this was rather disappointing. Moreover, the rather substantial bill wasn't adjusted to reflect the lengthy wait.In any case, it's a lovely place and I recommend it for the food and view, providing you have plenty of time on your hands.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Brett!

Thanks for reviewing us. I’m sorry that you had such a long wait. I can assure you that is not normal practice for us. We are currently hiring new staff both in the kitchen and front of house due to this being a high change over season for short term residents in town. I’m confident we will be able to provide you with much better service in the future when our new team members are settled in. I recognize that wasn’t an excuse for your experience and apologize again. I’m glad you still though it’s a lovely spot and I hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    57
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The service is excellent and the food is not your run of the mill restaurant fare. The food is beautifully presented as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Patron,

Great to hear you liked the way the food was presented. Thanks for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mother's Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had Mother's Day breakfast with my mom and my girlfriend and it was simply amazing! Presentation of the food is by far the best I've seen in Banff. The view is just breathtaking! We had the only male server that morning and he was extremely professional but also very friendly and took time to listen to us even if it was pretty busy. We didn't wait long for the food. If only it was warm enough to enjoy the patio... Next time! Strongly recommend the Juniper Bistro if you're in the Banff area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Patron,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your brunch with us so much! We look forward to having you again (on the patio!) soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and gorgeous view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a great place to eat and enjoy the beauty of the landscape. There is not a bad seat in the house to sit at and loo out the wall of windows to the mountains. Breakfast is really good with lots of choices for food sensitivities. I highly recommend eating here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a bite to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We are here after a great day skiing and was quite satisfied with our meal. The specials on the day weren't quite to our liking but the lunch menu had some delicious sandwiches and burgers. The cheese spaetzl was fantastic.

We ordered after a large group had just placed their order and our still showed up in a reasonable time. Our waiter was quite friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Juniper Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Juniper Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.