We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mother's Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Bistro

The Juniper Bistro
1 Juniper Way | Mt. Norquay Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1E1, Canada (Formerly Juniper Bistro & Lounge)
+1 866-551-2281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The wall-to-wall glass at the Juniper Bistro looks out over one of the most renowned vistas in North America. Join us for locally-inspired food that's the ideal complement to a day of hiking, cycling, skiing, or downtown shopping. Our meals are homemade and decadent, crafted to include our most treasured Canadian classics along with new discoveries inspired by worldwide travels. From our in-house bakery to the spirit of our menu, our chefs are proud to create delicious meals with a handcrafted and sustainable spirit.
Banff, Canada
1 review
“Great Mother's Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had Mother's Day breakfast with my mom and my girlfriend and it was simply amazing! Presentation of the food is by far the best I've seen in Banff. The view is just breathtaking! We had the only male server that morning and he was extremely professional but also very friendly and took time to listen to us even if it was pretty busy. We didn't wait long for the food. If only it was warm enough to enjoy the patio... Next time! Strongly recommend the Juniper Bistro if you're in the Banff area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Patron,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your brunch with us so much! We look forward to having you again (on the patio!) soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    32
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and gorgeous view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a great place to eat and enjoy the beauty of the landscape. There is not a bad seat in the house to sit at and loo out the wall of windows to the mountains. Breakfast is really good with lots of choices for food sensitivities. I highly recommend eating here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place for a bite to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We are here after a great day skiing and was quite satisfied with our meal. The specials on the day weren't quite to our liking but the lunch menu had some delicious sandwiches and burgers. The cheese spaetzl was fantastic.

We ordered after a large group had just placed their order and our still showed up in a reasonable time. Our waiter was quite friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best brunch and best views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The Juniper is a little out of town but entirely worth the 5-minute drive. The views are better than anywhere in Banff, and the food is on par with any 5-star restaurant, but at totally reasonable prices ($13 for ham and gruyere waffles). Highly recommended for any brunch needs!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Gabrielle,

Thanks for your review! We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your brunch with us. We now serve brunch until 2pm on the weekend! We hope to see you again soon for some of those delicious waffles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not a lot of healthy options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We ate here three times over the past weekend:

1st Breakfast - Slow Roasted Pork Hash, awful swimming in grease made me nausious. The pesto? had a horrible texture and my mouth was filled with the overpowering flavour of garlic for the whole day. I would have preferred my eggs poached medium but was never offfered anything but the runny eggs I got. Don't know where the sausage came from but it was bland, bland, bland. The bright side, the bread was crusted in seeds and really quite delicious.

Dinner - Bison Taco's, awful same gross pesto from breakfast on my taco? How about some Pico de Gallo??? I believe that meat it a taco should be bite sized or so soft that when you bite into the taco you don't end up wearing it The Bison was in strips and so tough that I could barely chew it.

Breakfast #2 - Granola Yogurt and Fruit - a pleasant surprise, The Granola was really tasty, the fruit was cut small and easy to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Terra,

Thanks for reviewing us. Sorry to hear that you didn’t think there are enough healthy options. However we strive to offer a well rounded menu of home cooked food that does include plenty of salads, fish and vegetables for those looking for healthier options. On your next visit, might I suggest that you try one of those options?

I apologize that you did not enjoy your first breakfast or dinner. I can assure you the Pork Hash is not typically served that way, this is feedback that we can share with the kitchen team to ensure it does not happen again.

Great to know that you did however enjoyed your Granola, Yoghurt & Fruit!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Juniper Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Juniper Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.