We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Juniper Bistro and Lounge, worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Bistro

The Juniper Bistro
Juniper Way and Mount Norquay Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1E1, Canada (Formerly Juniper Bistro & Lounge)
403 763-6205
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #38 of 120 restaurants in Banff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Locals, Canadians and international guests meet at the Juniper Bistro to experience memorable meals with one of Banff' most popular views. Our chefs, find inspiration in the crossing of two different food baskets that meet in the Bow Valley: the prairie grasslands and the abundance of the Fraser Valley Delta. The Juniper Bistro proudly features regional growers and producers. Our food supports our guests' pursuit of a healthy, environmentally-intelligent lifestyle. The Juniper Bistro is 'away from the crowds, but closer than you think'.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Juniper Bistro and Lounge, worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Tucked away off the Trans-Canada Highway, at the base of Norquay Mountain, is the Juniper. Went for dinner and was not disappointed. The service was exceptional. Our server let us take our time and savour a cocktail. We went out to catch the stunning views. Our server was attentive and came outside to offer a photo of us together. Started with appetizers to share, had beet salad with arugula and mushroom bruschetta. Both were tasty, the bruschetta was grilled, so it was different, yet still pleasant. Best described as a smokey flavour. For dinner had the Eggplant/Zucchini Lasagna and my hubby had Rib Eye Steak. We both shared each, and both were tasty. The steak was very juicy and tender. For dessert we split the brownie and it was delicious. The accompanying ganache and 'chocolate shot' with the brownie were decadent. This is worth the visit. The atmosphere was very relaxed and our server even took the time to light a fire for someone else who requested it. You could come here for a cocktail and appy or a full dinner. Can't wait to come back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    32
    16
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is one fantastic Bistro, located right on the Trans Canada Hwy.
The food is very, very good, and prepared by Red Seal Chef's. We have been for both breakfast and dinner and both were outstanding.
The price is reasonable which sometimes in the area is hard to find.
If your going to, or by Banff Stop in I grantee you will not be disappointed, also I should mention the entire place is very neat and clean.
Stop by you will love it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stopped into the Juniper bistro for dinner. It is on the outskirts of Banff but well worth the trip.Service was very friendly and food was excellent and wll priced. Will definately return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This restaurant is inside the Juniper Hotel, which is away from the main drag but is situated overlooking Mount Norquay. The floor-to-ceiling windows, and adjacent patio provided a lovely setting for our meal. The previous reviews said that this restaurant features seasonal flavors and elk/bear/other non-chicken meat :) That was not the case when we visited, however everything we ate was delicious, if not very inventive. The view really wowed us, though. We watched the sun set over the mountain, and wished we were staying here...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overall Amazing Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location, off the beaten path, is what gives way to the terrific views.
The atmosphere, warm and welcoming, comfortable, relaxing, romantic.
The Service was attentive, friendly, personable, thank you so much Isabelle!
The Food, lovely in presentation, three courses, each different, truly a tasting treat.

Highly recommend the food, everything we ordered was wonderful. The Sweet Mousse tray of four was a Sweet surprise. We went early and stayed until sunset. The views amazed as you can see the mountains and the Banff Springs Hotel off in the distance. Lots to linger over.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Juniper Bistro also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Juniper Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.