We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and very good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Juniper Bistro

The Juniper Bistro
1 Juniper Way | Mt. Norquay Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1E1, Canada (Formerly Juniper Bistro & Lounge)
+1 866-551-2281
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Juniper Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The wall-to-wall glass at the Juniper Bistro looks out over one of the most renowned vistas in North America. Join us for locally-inspired food that's the ideal complement to a day of hiking, cycling, skiing, or downtown shopping. Our meals are homemade and decadent, crafted to include our most treasured Canadian classics along with new discoveries inspired by worldwide travels. From our in-house bakery to the spirit of our menu, our chefs are proud to create delicious meals with a handcrafted and sustainable spirit.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had dinner here tonight based on the recommendation from Joe at Canada House Gallery. We were very glad we took his recommendation. My husband had the pasta of the day ($23) which was yummy and I had the game hen with risotto ($29), also very good. The view from this restaurant is second to none - you overlook the Bow Valley with Cascade Mountain in fulll view and the Banff Springs in the background. The hotel, itself, looks a bit worn - the plants on the patio look unkempt, but if you can overlook that, it is worth a visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    38
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Visited the Juniper Bistro & Lounge one summer evening with family visiting from Mexico. The restaurant offers an outdoor patio with beautiful views of the area. Only complaint was that it was a little noisy with the highway being below the restaurant and there could have been better signage to access the restaurant (we ended up walking through the entire hotel looking for the restaurant and right by the disinterested front desk staff). Restaurant staff was attentive and service was prompt. Highly recommend the house salad with the apple and stilton. Will be back soon to check out the lunch menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good view, nice view, but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our travel book recommended Juniper Bistro for its good food and a great view of the Bow Valley, and the book was absolutely right. We enjoyed our food (we had a salmon wrap and a chicken sandwich) and the view of the Bow Valley was quite spectacular. However, we did not realize that the restaurant sits on the hillside just above the Trans-Canada Highway. Thus, what we envisioned as a peaceful outdoor experience with a great view was not quite what we got.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went for dinner with another couples as we have been there for lunch before. The views are amazing and some of the best you will get from a restaurant in Banff. The service is excellent and that was one of the reasons we went back. The lunch menu is better than the dinner menu. There is very limited choices for dinner. That was the only downfall and they were out of one of the entrees that we ordered. So with a smaller dinner menu it is dissapointint for a restaurant like this to run out of items. Otherwise it is fabulous for the views and service. I would recommend to go for an appitizer and drink or for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banff
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Impressed with service and the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Being a local in banff I couldn't believe I forgot how good the patio is at the restaurant We had two sandwichs and a couple drinks very good food and great service from Stephen he made up a very good off the menu martini too bad it's not very busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Juniper Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Juniper Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juniper Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.