We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Beaver Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Beaver Cabins
Save
You added Banff Beaver Cabins to your Saves list
220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed in the Gopher Suite for 5 nights in August 2012. Being in the basement, we were worried it would be dark but it wasn't, and it actually meant our suite was shielded from the sun so it was great coming back to a cool and airy suite after a day in the sun.

Loved our stay at Banff Beaver Cabins and we were very sad to leave.

Great location for Banff National Park - within driving distance of most of the main walks, mountains and 'attractions' (e.g. hot springs).

Laura, the hostess, was really helpful giving us a map of Banff and a few hints of where we might want to go - enough information to get us started but also leaving us to discover a few things for ourselves which we really appreciated.

It was great to be able to come "home" to our own suite and collapse after a day of walking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    23
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in the Lynx cabin for three days this August. Laura and Lloyd are great hosts. The cabin had many amenities tucked away for our use. Sitting outside at our little table in the evenings was the best. In talking to other travelers at restaurants about our stay in the cabin, many seemed to be jealous! Located across a parking lot from Banff Street and all the stores and restaurants it was convenient, yet very quite. Fresh rolls with jam and fresh fruit in a bowl every morning got us ready to go out. In the evenings Laura had fresh baked cookies with tea on the picnic table. I look forward to returning to Banff and will stay with our new Canadian friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and 12 year old son stayed here for 3 days in July, 2012. We stayed in the Bear cabin which is one of the smaller ones but perfect for a couple or family with one child. The home made buns, jam and fruit were an excellent plus. Also, milk for you coffee is put in your refrigerator daily. The kitched was extremely well equiped with micro, hotplate, teapot, coffee maker and refrigerator (full size). The beds were very comfy and the internet was blazing! The only drawback is there is no outlet in the bathroom (at least in Bear Cabin) but I wasn't blowdrying my hair anyway so it wasn't a big deal and the parking is a bit tight but we managed even with our Toyota Tacoma. The bear cabin is connected to another one but we heard no noise from the neighbors. The location is ideal in that it is walking distance to downtown so you don't need to drive. The hosts are very friendly and even gave my son cookies that she was baking that were for later that afternoon. I highly recommend Banff Beaver Cabins. It was one of the less expensive places to stay in Banff and I don't understand why anyone would stay anywhere else. It was extremely clean, and believe me I am very picky.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a really relaxed time here. Host Laura was helpful, friendly and very easy to chat with. We stayed in the bear cabin. Most comfortable and clean bed and a well equipped kitchen. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I can't say enough to recommend Banff Beaver Cabins. We stayed in the Lynx, a cozy cabin that was super clean and well equipped with a t.v., microwave, coffee maker, and all the kitchen utensils we needed (and more). Complimentary tea, coffee, milk was always available. The hosts, Laura and Lloyd were friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. While staying at the Lynx, we enjoyed home made granola, freshly baked buns, home made jam, and chocolate chip cookies! We also had the use of a BBQ and a patio which was great after a day of hiking. This Bed and Breakfast definitely deserves a 5 star rating!

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying at the Lynx but it is definitely cozy. For a longer stay, a couple might want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in the Elk cabin with 2 bedrooms and tiny bath and kitchen. We enjoyed reading about the history of the cabins. We loved the location because it was a 2 minute walk to the main street of Banff. As a heritage cabin, it was small, but we expected that. NIce common area where cookies and cider are available as you check in, and then buns and fruit are available in the morning with homemade granola and milk. Very friendly owners who gave out maps and tips on where to go and what to see.
I would recommend this one....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I saw the reviews on TA for Banff Beaver Cabins and decided to stay here. The cabins are actually historic cabins and I love the old designs of these little cottages. We had a kitchen, little couch and two bedrooms, beds were really comfortable and we loved the quilts and cozy decorations in the rooms. The best part about these cabins is that they are only a block from town. We hardly used our car during our stay. Laura was also very helpful with a great map of Banff, homemade granola and fresh bread in the morning - we would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff Beaver Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Beaver Cabins

Address: 220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Beaver Cabins a Class B Heritage Site. Six fully furnished cabins and suites with 1 or 2 bedrooms, washrooms, microwave kitchenettes, some with living rooms. One block away from main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banff Beaver Cabins Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Beaver Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.