We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Beaver Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Beaver Cabins
Save
You added Banff Beaver Cabins to your Saves list
220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Medley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well located, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our stay at the Beaver Creek Cabins was excellent. We actually ended up staying at two different cabins and both of them were exceptionally clean and comfortable. Our hosts answered all of our questions regarding the area and the facilities. The central location made it easy to walk to town where there is a wide selection of restaurants, and a Safeway supermarket.

It was very quite in the evenings which made it relaxing, but there was a lot of activities close by if that was your choice.

Laura and Lloyd were both very accommodating and they will make you feel at home. They offered homemade rolls for breakfast and homemade cookies for snacks in the afternoon.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The cougar suite is very nice especially if there are two couples or there is a need for a second be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    23
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the Cougar (family) suite between June/28 to July/5/2012. This unit was our home away from home for this period. We were a couple with a 21 yrs old daughter and a 10 yrs old son. The kitchen was well equiped for eating and cooking, from plates, thru pots to paper towels, foil and even surround wrap. The place was cosy and clean. The buns and granola were great and the owners are willing to assist with every request (I needed an iron and ironing board...). on Canada day, We had a great BBQ (all we had to bring are the meat and beer). The location is great-quiet and just off Banff av.
We do hope to visit Banff again. Next time we won't have to look for reviews etc...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Toronto Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

i stayed at banff beaver cabins with my husband and 2 year old babe ... although we stayed in the smallest cabin, it was cozy and perfect. we were not sure about location at first (as we wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle) but this turned out to be the best part - perfect lcoation, only a block from the main street, we were able to get up early or go out later and enjoy the town without as many crowds! the room although small has all amenities needed - has a small kitchenette and fridge/freezer ... perfect for our stay. there was also a great area outside to eat and bbqs for common use - we were treated to granola, fruit and buns with jam for breakfast, packed picnic lunches and made dinner with the facilities!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

These cabins were just perfect for us! I was traveling with my husband and 19 year old daughter. The cabin was very clean, well equipped and very cozy. Fox cabin had everything we needed: large fridge with freezer, microwave, TV. The host was very welcoming. She provided buns and jam in the morning and cookies in the afternoon. The cabin was only 2 streets over from Banff Ave (the main street with EVERYTHING). It was just close enough without being too close so we weren't bothered by the traffic or people noise. We were visiting during Canada Day celebrations and Laura apologized for the noise the next day but we didn't notice any problems at all. I enjoyed eating several meals at the table outside our cabin. There was also a gazebo out front with a table.
If you want to stay in Banff I STRONGLY recommend this property! It was our favorite lodging during our 12 day trip from Calgary to Banff then Lake Louise then Jasper and finally Edmonton. And relatively speaking (everything in Banff is extremely expensive), it was a value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stopped at these cabins whilst visiting Banff, unfortunately the bigger cabin wasn't available but they got a put up bed so we were able to fit us all in. It was all very comfortable and homely. We were made to feel very welcome! The breakfast was lovely in the morning, with fresh bread rolls, butter, jam, fruit and a lovely home made granola! It certainly kept us going until lunch, which is what we needed with our action pack days - walking up the glacier and going white water rafting. We were made aware of bears and how to deal in a bear situation, as well as borrowing some bear spray! The only tiny downside was when we got there, there was no space in the car park so we had to carry our luggage quite a distance to our lodge! However we hope to return to Banff one day as the whole place was lovely... Missing Canada from the UK! Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay here for four nights. We were initially booked into the 'Lynx' cabin, which we found too small for two people. We transferred to the 'Fox' cabin which had ample room, all the facilities (big fridge, microwave, crockery, TV) and very cosy atmosphere. Laura the host was just delightful, always very friendly, and provided those nice little exras such as freshly baked bread rolls with jam every morning, and cookies each afternoon.
The cabins are located just on the edge of the main Banff shopping area, making it very convenient to walk in, but quiet in the evenings.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'Lynx' cabin if you are a couple, and enjoy some space to move around in. All othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

It was a holiday weekend and we had muddled our dates and there was no cabin for us when we arrived in Banff. Although this was entirely our error, Laura was extremely concerned for us, gave us some phone numbers of other B and Bs and let us use her phone. It was possible for us to come back the following day, but we had nowhere for our first night and we had had a long journey from the south west of England. Laura even said that if we couldn't find anwhere she would make up her daughter's room for us. We were so touched by her kindness. It turned out OK. We found somewhere (see my review of the Holiday Lodge) and then came back the next day to the Beaver Cabins where we spent some happy, comfortable nights. Laura has got it just right: she's around, very friendly and helpful, but you feel that while you're there the place is yours. Banff Beaver cabins is a Heritage Site and the cabins were built in 1914. We learned that in 1928, Parks Canada let people use "backyard developments" to absorb tourist demands and by 1937 there were over 400 backyard cabins for tourists. Then cabin construction was stopped in 1939 and the Beaver cabins are one of the few remaining. And we'd wondered why the the Holiday Lodge the night before had Wendy houses in the garden. That's why. we would definitely stay here again. You can't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Beaver Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Beaver Cabins

Address: 220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Beaver Cabins a Class B Heritage Site. Six fully furnished cabins and suites with 1 or 2 bedrooms, washrooms, microwave kitchenettes, some with living rooms. One block away from main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banff Beaver Cabins Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Beaver Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.