We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great affordable B&B close to Banff avenue and Banff center (Swiss quality staying)!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
209 Otter Street | P.O. Box 2298, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great affordable B&B close to Banff avenue and Banff center (Swiss quality staying)!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

This suite is really clean and in great location in affordable price. It is at the backside of the home which gives its calmness. Me and my husband really liked it. It gives lot of privacy. In summer I think it would be very nice to seat in the garden although we had late winter weather. So we really couldn't enjoy her garden. This stay reminded us our day in Switzerland. Swiss quality staying!!! Everything in the suite is clean and mostly new. Josee, the host, is very helpful, friendly, hard-working, straight spoken lady. Upon arrival she showed us everything in the suite which made us very comfortable about the surroundings. We really liked her straight forwardness and friendliness.
One of the previous reviewer mentioned about some cleaning issues and some "funny" rules. We did not have any issues like that. In fact, she keeps the suite so clean that you will feel to clean that suite after your mess. In that scenario, it is always helpful if she shows you where all the cleaning stuffs she kept for you if you need in case.
We will highly recommend this B&B to our family and friends. This is close to Banff center (10 mins by walk), close to Banff avenue (but away from main crowd) and towards the end of the city (near the bridge on Bow river). Josee, thanks a lot for hosting us with your cleanliness and open heart. Wish to see you again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drummondville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Great little kitchen, super clean and quiet. Got lots of information about hiking, places to eat and sightseeing. Highly recommend this place... Don't look for anywhere else in Banff, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I've stayed in Banff a number of times over the years in all types of hotels, motels, and B&B's and I saw this quaint looking little B&B on my last trip out and inquired about it for the next time I traveled. Wonderful experience from check-in to check-out. The host made us feel welcome from the very start. I plan on staying there whenever I go visit Banff. Thank you very much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I've recently stayed at Cottage Bed and Breakfast for a little holiday and felt in love with the coziness of this B&B. The host (also the owner, Josee) was really helpfull in pointing out great restaurants and things to do in the area. I highly recommend Cottage B&B!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I loved my stay at Cottage B&B this past summer. Our host was very helpful in helping to plan our hiking trips. The house was homey and spacious. Thanks for all your kind attention!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed at Cottage Bed and Breakfast for a romantic weekend and enjoyed our stay immensely. For an inexpensive B&B it is really well kept up and the owner obviously cares a great deal about her place. The no breakfast option suited us fine as I am not big on continental breakfasts anyway. Reading about the "funny rules" review makes me think what spoiled brats people are. A few rules to keep the place looking nice are easy to bear and are very understandable considering it is not a hotel but the owners residence.
If you want a quiet and clean place to stay in Banff a short walk from the main strip, then this is your place. The owner told me that they are renovating the basement and installing a proper kitchen for next summer. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed in Cottage B & B with 4 adults and had both rooms and the living area available to us. The owner indicated that our stay fell in her scheduled days off and that it therefore would be a self catered stay, where she would make a mini kitchenette available in a cupboard, which was not a problem to us.

When we arrived all these funny rules were pointed out to us and there was also a welcoming letter that pointed all of these out: take your shoes off, after showering clean the tiles, be quite after 10 pm etc. In it self we didn't have an issues with these, however it makes you feel a bit funny.

The mini kitchenette was a cupboard with a fridge, a kettle and a toaster and some plates and glasses. Washing up needed to occur in the bathroom in a provided plastic tub. the kettle had to be taken out of the cup board and toaster needed to remain in the cup board.

The accomodation is very reasonably priced and conveniently located near down town Banff. The beds are quite hard, however all in all if you can put up with the funny rules and are looking for budget accommodation close to the centre of town you might like to try it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 209 Otter Street | P.O. Box 2298, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.