We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now has 2 extra bedrooms . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
209 Otter Street | P.O. Box 2298, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Now has 2 extra bedrooms . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here as a family for 5 nights in August in the 2 new upstairs bedrooms. These are new and completely separate from the suite listed on the BBCanada web site. Available together or separately. With shared adjacent bathroom.

This was a "proper" B&B with breakfast provided downstairs in the dining room. Cereal, fruit, bread / toast (fresh homemade bread every day with anything you don't eat available for sandwiches for lunch the following day) with jam, honey etc., juice, tea / coffee.

Josée was very friendly and helpful - even lent us a can of bear spray to take on hikes (just in case . . .) - and offered plenty of suggestions for hikes, what to do round Banff etc.

The rooms could get quite warm (we were in the middle of a Banff heatwave) so needed to follow Josée's advice on which windows / curtains to keep open / closed and when to keep things comfortable.

Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: See review - as well as the self catering suite there are now 2 bedrooms offering bed AND breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, PA
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
416 helpful votes 416 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had booked this suite months before our trip to the Canadian Rockies. We spent 4 nights here and the time went quickly. Josée greeted us upon our arrival and was helpful. She gave us a tour of the suite and property.

She does have a few requests including taking our shoes off when entering the suite, squeegeeing the shower tiles, signing a waiver about leaving the kitchen like we found it, and removing the trash before leaving. We are always very neat when staying and leaving an accommodation, so I'm throwing this out as an FYI. We had no problem obliging, but we were aware of these requests during our stay. This is one reason the place is immaculately clean.

The suite was plenty big with beautiful wooden floors, full kitchen, living room and a separate bedroom. The pillows are a little small, but there are extras in the closet if needed. We only used the kitchen for simple breakfasts and making our lunches. We never cook dinners on vacation. However, there is a nice grill in the yard to use.

The internet was sufficient for our needs. I agree with a previous reviewer that the TV is a smaller standard set, but there are plenty of channels available on the satellite. Then again, we don't watch much TV on vacation. We did hear footsteps in the morning above us, but nothing too bad.

The location is perfect, a couple blocks from downtown. The suite is also close to the Bow River Trail, which is a short walk to Bow River Falls. We enjoyed staying here and the price of $140 is a good deal in this expensive town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delemont, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I had a great little stay at the Cottage B&B. It is perfectly located just a couple of minutes stroll from the centre of town but far enough away from the main streets to be in a very quiet environment. Our room upstairs was spacious and very comfortable, even in the 30-degree weather we had. Josée is an extremely friendly hostess and was very attentive to our needs. She is very knowledgeable about the sites and activities in Banff and the region, and was able to give us plenty of ideas for walks in the surrounding area. Summit the dog is lovely company as well! In conclusion, certainly very good value for money and highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I first stayed there in June 2011 and decided to come back for some spring skiing this April. I was so impressed with the set up the first time that it was a no brainer. My boyfriend and I had a great holiday and cannot say enough about this simple and cosy set up, not to mention the friendliness of the owners. They have a new addition to the “family”: Summit, the happy dog! We can’t wait to come back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granbury, tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was the last stop on our 3 week journey via ferry, train and car. Josee greeted us and showed us the lovely suite and gave us all the rules. The suite is in a walk-in basement that goes to a lovely yard with a great view. Josee invited us to relax in the lawn chairs in the yard. The bedroom is large and living room and kitchen are a nice space. It is a full kitchen except there is no stove but a hot plate. We told Josee we were tired of restaurants and she suggested Nester's store. Worked out great. Josee provides coffee, tea, milk, cereal and fruit for breakfast and you prepare it. My kind of deal. TV could be updated but other than that Cottage B&B is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

we stayed in the self catering apartment and it was perfect for our needs. It was only minutes from the town centre. Josee the proprietor is herself a hiker so she planned all our trips for us. We had a problem with our return flights and she spent a very long time sorting a new itineary for us.We had a wonderful trip thanks to all her help and advice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I'd originally found this small apartment as a week long vacation rental on another website. I had not realised it was a B&B until I found it on Tripadvisor while looking at other things in Banff. Reading the early reviews here made me wonder if I had made an error in booking, but it seemed too late to change plans.

How glad I am that I ignored my instincts. The place is great: comfortable, spotlessly clean, well kitted out. It is in a beautifully quiet street but close to everything.

Josee the host was invariably helpful and informative, both in correspondence before our arrival and during the stay.

This was my first trip to Banff, I am already thinking about my next trip and will almost certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 209 Otter Street | P.O. Box 2298, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;