We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic antidote to standard Banff fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nourish Vegetarian Bistro

Nourish Vegetarian Bistro
110 211 Bear Street | Bison Courtyard, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B4, Canada
+1 403-760-3933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Nourish is dedicated to offering a tapas style service with dishes intended as a unique taste experience. A beautiful variety of organic savory and sweet dishes designed with the concept of sharing in mind. We handpick all of our ingredients and make everything fresh to order. The eclectic Decor and enchanting atmosphere provide a quaint, relaxing experience, bringing intimacy back into the eating experience. A visit here nourishes the mind and soul as much as it feeds the body. We share a passion for food and a commitment to delivering excellence.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic antidote to standard Banff fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a great dinner at the new location in September 2013. The staff were friendly and patient, even though they were stretched to keep up with an unexpectedly busy night. The food was excellent (we had yam tenders, salads, and the mushroom ravioli). Definitely worth checking out when you're in Banff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    139
    40
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Didn't know veggie food could be so tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We only chose to eat here as I have Coeliac disease so have to have gluten-free food which can be difficult to find. We were wandering around trying to find somewhere and they had a sign on the window saying "gluten-free". Being meat-eaters we wouldn't normally choose to eat at a vegetarian restaurant, but it was really tasty. We both had the Smoky Tempeh burger, mine was served with gluten-free bread.The staff were really friendly and the food was good. Can't ask for more!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Such a lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited there after reading rave reviews here.
My husband is a vegetarian, I'm a total carnivore and I loved it!
Dishes very generous, the food absolutely delicious (get the nachos!!!), atmosphere was electric and the staff were super friendly and patient.
Definitely a must-visit if you're in Banff :-)
We visited last September (system only has up to last October...)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had a "beautiful burrito", it had guacamole, curry rice, onions, blueberries, strawberries...a very different mix, and yet it was abundant and delicious!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Biggest surprise in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

There are dozens of restos and bistros throughout the touristy streets of Banff...but because it's Alberta I didn't expect to find one of their most top-rated establishments is vegetarian, a bonus for me, after a week dodging cow in Calgary! Truth be told Calgary had some great eateries that accommodated me, but driving into town looking at Nourish's menu online was truly exciting. 27 ingredients in their south west inspired nacho's, including strawberries and roast pineapple!! Whohoo!! Four of us visited for lunch, and the contemporary yet friendly vibe, modern digi-lighting, and fresh juice bar...(sorry no java)...made me hopeful that this would be an experience to savour and it was. The establishment is new and we found the prices a bit high but after eating it didn't matter. My burrito was outstanding...the best i've had. Coconut curry rice with roasted veg and pineapple, blueberries, six different beans and cheeses, excellent fresh guac and salsa and wonderful soups and a great caesar salad....fresh organic ingredients and a chef that obviously is creative and masterful. It was a nice touch that he came out to see how we liked it and he explained some of his southwest process. A flavour guru, he even smokes the heirloom tomatoes first! The others had the excellent upscale nachos and the soup/sandwich combo that changes daily. The potato leek and roast garlic in the pot that afternoon was creamy and sublime! Unfortunately we were just passing through.. I would be dining there often if this was in my backyard!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nourish Vegetarian Bistro also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Nourish Vegetarian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nourish Vegetarian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.