We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent, excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nourish Vegetarian Bistro

Nourish Vegetarian Bistro
110, 211 Bear Street | Bison Courtyard, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B4, Canada
+1 403-760-3933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 123 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Nourish is dedicated to offering a tapas style service with dishes intended as a unique taste experience. A beautiful variety of organic savory and sweet dishes designed with the concept of sharing in mind. We handpick all of our ingredients and make everything fresh to order. The eclectic Decor and enchanting atmosphere provide a quaint, relaxing experience, bringing intimacy back into the eating experience. A visit here nourishes the mind and soul as much as it feeds the body. We share a passion for food and a commitment to delivering excellence.
Rossland, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We wanted to visit while in Banff based on the great reviews. The first day we tried, they were very busy, and we couldn't get in, so reservations really are recommended.
The place doesn't look like much...very small, and on the second floor of a mall. The decor is pretty thrown together too, although I found that funky and charming.
We luckily got in the second day we tried, and loved everything about it! The waiter (who I believe was the owner) was very casual, comfortable and informative, and provided great service.
We loved the way it worked - each dish brought out one at a time to share, one after the other. We had the soup of the day, sweet potato and pear, which was delicious...a little spicy, but I am sure it helped to chase away my cold! We then had the mushroom ravioli, which was fantastic! We had a half portion, and it was plenty. After that, we shared the shepherd's pie, which was also just delicious...and huge...we ended up taking some to go. All the dishes were also beautifully presented.
The only thing that wasn't so great in our opinion was the dessert. We took 1 to go, and it was a chocolate peanut butter cake, and I thought it was supposed to be a cheese cake - maybe I misheard - but it had what I found to be an unpleasant grainy texture, and actually didn't taste very good. Ah, well, everything else was awesome, so I am not complaining!
They are scheduled to move to their new location in June, which will be bigger (and air conditioned!), so that is great news.....more capacity, so more people can enjoy this wonderful food!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    420
    102
    30
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A veg/vegan sanctuary in the middle of beef country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nourish was a sight for sore eyes.

On a trip to Banff a few years ago we were worried about how we'd get by without proper vegetarian/vegan food. Nourish was there to save the day.

The menu is friendly, earthy and mindful of local ingredients and produce.

We loved it. This is a MUST if you're headed to Banff and you're vegetarian/vegan.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not just for vegetarians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My vegetarian son and I were in Banff to visit a friend and have a quick lunch. We checked with a friend at Patagonia store who agreed that this is a great spot but he said service was slow. The mall isn't exciting but once you are in, you are transported to a zen and serene like setting. We had amazing service - one of the most interesting waiters, Tim who not only was enthusiastic about the food and recommendations, but a very good conversationalist. Soup was sweet potato and pear and shared mushroom ravioli which was as good as the menu blurb indicated. Water came right away and tea. Although Tim said the creme brule cheesecake is sublime we passed but that will be next visit. There will be more visits to this great spot even for the non vegetarian!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“5 Star Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

When i got told I was being taken to a vegetarian resturant for our staff xmas meal I was not impressed! I'm a big meat eater and would never have dreamed of going to some place like this.
So glad I did...

The food is amazing!! The flavours and presentation are fantastic and the service is second to none. The dishes are huge so it's best to go with a big group so you can share the platters. The nachos are awesome, 27 toppings!!

Lovely cosy atmosphere, it's become one of my favourite restuarants in banff :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Vegetarian Food in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Located in Sundance Mall on main Banff avenue, Nourish has a variety of vegetarian selection that will make you come again to taste the ones you missed the first time. Well presented sumptuous servings are very tasty and inviting to dig in to it immediately.

Tim Reid, who is energetic and enthusiastic to serve the food as quickly as he can says, Nourish is planning to expand and will move to a bigger place soon.

A place not to be missed when you are in Banff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nourish Vegetarian Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Nourish Vegetarian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nourish Vegetarian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.