We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A veg/vegan sanctuary in the middle of beef country!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nourish Vegetarian Bistro

Nourish Vegetarian Bistro
110, 211 Bear Street | Bison Courtyard, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B4, Canada
+1 403-760-3933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Nourish is dedicated to offering a tapas style service with dishes intended as a unique taste experience. A beautiful variety of organic savory and sweet dishes designed with the concept of sharing in mind. We handpick all of our ingredients and make everything fresh to order. The eclectic Decor and enchanting atmosphere provide a quaint, relaxing experience, bringing intimacy back into the eating experience. A visit here nourishes the mind and soul as much as it feeds the body. We share a passion for food and a commitment to delivering excellence.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A veg/vegan sanctuary in the middle of beef country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nourish was a sight for sore eyes.

On a trip to Banff a few years ago we were worried about how we'd get by without proper vegetarian/vegan food. Nourish was there to save the day.

The menu is friendly, earthy and mindful of local ingredients and produce.

We loved it. This is a MUST if you're headed to Banff and you're vegetarian/vegan.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    113
    31
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not just for vegetarians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My vegetarian son and I were in Banff to visit a friend and have a quick lunch. We checked with a friend at Patagonia store who agreed that this is a great spot but he said service was slow. The mall isn't exciting but once you are in, you are transported to a zen and serene like setting. We had amazing service - one of the most interesting waiters, Tim who not only was enthusiastic about the food and recommendations, but a very good conversationalist. Soup was sweet potato and pear and shared mushroom ravioli which was as good as the menu blurb indicated. Water came right away and tea. Although Tim said the creme brule cheesecake is sublime we passed but that will be next visit. There will be more visits to this great spot even for the non vegetarian!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“5 Star Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

When i got told I was being taken to a vegetarian resturant for our staff xmas meal I was not impressed! I'm a big meat eater and would never have dreamed of going to some place like this.
So glad I did...

The food is amazing!! The flavours and presentation are fantastic and the service is second to none. The dishes are huge so it's best to go with a big group so you can share the platters. The nachos are awesome, 27 toppings!!

Lovely cosy atmosphere, it's become one of my favourite restuarants in banff :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Vegetarian Food in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Located in Sundance Mall on main Banff avenue, Nourish has a variety of vegetarian selection that will make you come again to taste the ones you missed the first time. Well presented sumptuous servings are very tasty and inviting to dig in to it immediately.

Tim Reid, who is energetic and enthusiastic to serve the food as quickly as he can says, Nourish is planning to expand and will move to a bigger place soon.

A place not to be missed when you are in Banff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Came from LA for amazing vegan food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Being from LA, it's difficult to be impressed by food in general, but vegan food especially but Nourish is amazing.

Let's start with the service: Towns filled with young, seasonal workers are usually lacking in this area but all of the staff at Nourish were friendly and very helpful.

To the food, holy crap!!! The Poutine is one of the best dishes i've ever had and getting it vegan with Daiya is tops. Everything here is very large servings so I recomend going back a few times to also try the portobella melts, nachos, and falafel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nourish Vegetarian Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Nourish Vegetarian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nourish Vegetarian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.