We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came from LA for amazing vegan food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nourish Vegetarian Bistro

Nourish Vegetarian Bistro
110, 211 Bear Street | Bison Courtyard, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B4, Canada
+1 403-760-3933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Nourish is dedicated to offering a tapas style service with dishes intended as a unique taste experience. A beautiful variety of organic savory and sweet dishes designed with the concept of sharing in mind. We handpick all of our ingredients and make everything fresh to order. The eclectic Decor and enchanting atmosphere provide a quaint, relaxing experience, bringing intimacy back into the eating experience. A visit here nourishes the mind and soul as much as it feeds the body. We share a passion for food and a commitment to delivering excellence.
Pasadena, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Came from LA for amazing vegan food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Being from LA, it's difficult to be impressed by food in general, but vegan food especially but Nourish is amazing.

Let's start with the service: Towns filled with young, seasonal workers are usually lacking in this area but all of the staff at Nourish were friendly and very helpful.

To the food, holy crap!!! The Poutine is one of the best dishes i've ever had and getting it vegan with Daiya is tops. Everything here is very large servings so I recomend going back a few times to also try the portobella melts, nachos, and falafel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    409
    98
    29
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Vegetarian...Indian word for lousy hunter....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

most self-mocking of them to have this sticker on the wall. We had soup and a curry at lunch-time, food was lovely, very flavoursome and served with good grace. Good drinks both alc. and non-alc.The place is quite small, which is the only reason I gave it 4 marks. Book ahead and don't be put off by the grotty mall it is in. Portions are huge, one does two, even two Texans.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love it, Love it, Love it !!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently returned from trip to Banff and just had to share with all who visit tripadvisor how fabulous this uniqe Bistro was. First time in my life i have ever been asked by any eating establishment if i had any allergies, this is so that they could tailor make meals to the individual. The food was superb, fantastic idea of share meals, we ate things that we would not normally have tried. the food was perfect more than enough for 2, the staff are very friendly and welcoming, great value for money, superb atmosphere - will be the first place we will visit if we return to Banff again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Both my friend and I cannot have gluten and Nourish has amazing dishes that are gluten free. Service is great, a little slow, but absolutely worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

As a vegetarian living in meat-loving Alberta I appreciate any restaurant that creatively caters for veggies and so I was really looking forward to my first visit to Nourish. I was expecting to LOVE it, based on reviews and the yummy photos on their website. Unfortunately, the reality was disappointing. The tea is delicious and the food is definitely fresh, creative and beautifully presented, but the dishes we ordered had too many different textures & flavours piled together, so that you can't really appreciate any of them individually. The hard to find location, upstairs at the back of a brightly lit shopping arcade, and the modern and clean look of their website also jars with their dark and dusty makeshift decor. This wouldn't have put me off, but sadly their service was just way too slow for me to ever want to visit again. Shame, but lunch shouldn't take 2 1/2hrs when there are only 6 customers to deal with.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nourish Vegetarian Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Nourish Vegetarian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nourish Vegetarian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.