We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, homely and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Poplar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar Inn
Save
You added The Poplar Inn to your Saves list
316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely, homely and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had both of the rooms in this house as we were traveling with my parents. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the common area had beautiful mountain views. We enjoyed a great breakfast each morning and Susan was sensitive to our gluten free needs. Great location too with just a short walk into town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is just the 2nd B & B we have stayed at, both in Canada, and we were very happy with the setup. It was chosen because of reviews on this website and the look of the house. Position - fantastic. Very comfortable and cosy.
Susan made us some lovely pancakes in the morning with probably the best cup of tea we'd had in the two weeks in the US and Canada. Unfortunately we were time poor otherwise it would have been great to stay two nights and experience more of Banff itself.
We heard the train once I think and then we slept soundly in a fantastically comfortable bed. The whole setup was very clean.
Susan was very interesting to talk with.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was the start of our 3 week Canadian trip and the only accommodation we had booked to stay for as long as 4 nights in. When we arrived we were met by Bev & Dale who were looking after the B & B while the owner was away. They then explained that there was a problem and the room we had reserved had been double booked. Another couple had arrived before us with a 2 night booking so thinking we must have cancelled they were given our room. (Their review is below dated 31st August 2013). We had made the booking in January and did email to reconfirm it 3 weeks before our arrival and also provided a mobile number.

Bev & Dale were fantastic and immediately prepared the owners room for our use. At least we had a room but we were unable to unpack due to the draws and wardrobe containing the owner’s belongings. A wardrobe in another room was then emptied for our use. After 2 nights we then moved to the Larch Room that we had originally booked.

The B & B is in a very good location less than 5 minutes’ walk to the centre and just over 2 minutes walk down to Bow River.

The Larch Room was comfy and a good size with plenty of wardrobe/storage space. We found the bathroom noisy when running water or flushing the toilet and worried about disturbing guests in the other room.

I did hear the trains passing through during the night on a couple occasions but I would only be concerned about the disturbance if you are either a light sleeper or struggle to get back to sleep once awoken.

I would expect that after our experience the owner will take more care not to double book either of the two rooms available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiggerBanffCanada, Owner at The Poplar Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I was told by Bev that I had over booked. It is something every person in this industry dreads. Once it has happened all we can do is try to make it better. Bev did give you the master suite which is bigger than the B&B and the price was cut in half because it was my mistake. We all make mistakes. I certainly do take this seriously and try my hardest not to let it happen again. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in September and, bearing in mind the cost of accommodation in Banff, we found Susan's comfortable house really good value. The breakfasts suited us very well and kept us going most of the day - French toast was fantastic! The location is perfect - within 2 minutes' walk from the shops, yet away from the bustle of Banff Avenue and on the same street as our favourite Banff restaurant, Melissa's Missteak. The breakfast table looks out on to the mountains and one evening we bought in supplies and bottle of wine so that we could eat while watching the sun sink behind the peaks. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

A haven of quaintness amidst the bustle of a beautiful touristy village in the Canadian Rockies. Breakfasts were delicious wholesome, and presentation lovely. Large bed makes the room snug, but in such amazing surroundings most of your time is spent outdoors. Susan was gracious with recommendations and insider tips for food and sight-seeing. We stayed 5 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

When we stayed here, the owner was away and had left her friends in charge, Bev and Dale. Bev and Dale were very nice and helpful, they gave us ideas on places to eat and visit. I'm a fussy eater and on the second morning they were kind enough to accommodate my requests. The house is in a great location, moments from Banff Ave where all the restaurants and shops are. The rooms are large and beds comfy. There is a nice coffee bar and fridge which we found useful.

However when we arrived at 4pm no one was there to greet us and no number was left as a contact, and two notes were pinned to the door - neither addressed to us (!) it turns out there was a double booking and we were double booked with another couple who were yet to arrive. Everything turned out ok, the other couple ended up sleeping in the owners bedroom and we had our room, but we had to wait an hour for the hosts to return from dinner before we had any idea what was going on!

Hopefully this was a one off. We generally enjoyed our time here, however beware of the loud night time trains that can be heard from the house!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Susan was helpful in providing information in when to go to areas such as Lake Louis, and offered other suggestions for places to go that we were not aware of.

Breakfast was good and the available kitchen/ lounge area was comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are on a tight budget, look at Canmore, it is outside the national park. See NP website for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Poplar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar Inn

Address: 316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar Inn is a samll Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Banff. It is a new home built in a Victorian style. Two rooms have king size beds and en-suite bathrooms. A delicious full couse breakfast is served every morning. Coffee and tea are complimentary all day. The beautiful back yard is available to the guests. Short walk to downtown. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poplar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.