We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Poplar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar Inn
Save Saved
You added The Poplar Inn to your Saves list
316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
nsw
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Susan was helpful in providing information in when to go to areas such as Lake Louis, and offered other suggestions for places to go that we were not aware of.

Breakfast was good and the available kitchen/ lounge area was comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are on a tight budget, look at Canmore, it is outside the national park. See NP website for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We just returned home and my first review has to be The Poplar Inn. We stayed two nights -- July 13 and 14. Susan is very professional, courteous, and accommodating. She is also open, honest, and friendly, engaging the guests whenever possible, yet leaving you to your privacy. We enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. My husband was coaxed to try the Muesli with delicious fresh berries and he loved it. The location is great, just on the edge of town and close to restaurants, shopping, etc. while being removed from the tourist scene. The views from her place are very pleasant. We were able to attend Mass at the church right next door. We would most definitely stay there again. The place was meticulous; the décor appealing to travelers and charming.

(I think the previous reviewer is just a little too demanding. I am a business owner and I know when I see "high maintenance". Surely you need to allow for people's humanness. The reviewer, I am sure, caught Susan in an off moment if, in fact, there is any truth to the comments. Susan is an experienced business person and it is quite obvious -- so I was surprised to see the nature of the previous review. Business owners have to deal with their own lives, stresses, and it was our experience that Susan bent over backwards to help solve a problem that arose. Her interpersonal skills are excellent. We did not know Susan before our stay but feel we could call on her for any advice, suggestions, etc. We felt she would be there for us if the need should arise.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are planning a trip to the Rockies for Christmas this year. I emailed the owner and very politely inquired as to wether there would be any rooms available at this time. I was looking forward to hearing back from her as most of the reviews on TA are very positive and the house looks really nice on the website. I found her response to be abrupt and unfriendly, so we will be booking elsewhere. People don't understand how much their attitude counts in customer service, but she clearly doesn't care that much or she wouldn't have responded that way. Even though the most recent reviews are positive, I'm glad I went back a few pages and found they negative ones - I think if we did stay at the Poplar Inn it could have been very hit or miss. When communicating with a potential guest in an email, it is polite to acknowledge the person by at least saying "hello", not just start writing. Other B&B owners have done this, and also finished their responses with "Kind Regards" or "Thankyou for your enquiry, feel free to email us at any time with your questions" etc. I am now happy I have found a B&B with owners who appear to be friendly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiggerBanffCanada, Owner at The Poplar Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
In this day and age everyone wants the answer as quickly as possible. That is why most people text.
I wondered how you rated the cleanliness of my place when you were never in the building? Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Poplar Inn for three nights in June to attend our son’s wedding, which took place at the Banff Springs Hotel. This was our first stay at a B&B.

The Inn’s location is very central, just a short walk to everywhere we wanted to go. Even our most distant destination, the Banff Springs Hotel, was only a pleasant thirty-minute walk away. We also got there by bus for a buck (seniors’ rate) and by taxi for ten dollars.

We took advantage of the deli section of the Safeway store just two blocks from the Inn to pick up fruit and salads. The two rooms of the Inn share a common sitting/dining area, which offers a small refrigerator and a microwave, as well as a coffee maker and a tea kettle.

The décor of the Inn was warm and inviting. The bedroom and the bathroom were both a good size, and were spotlessly clean. The king-size bed featured a comfortable mattress, pillows and bedding. The wardrobe/dresser combination was a good size and was stocked with plenty of coat hangers (something we wish hotels would do). There was a big screen TV, and there was a hair dryer tucked inside one of the night stands. Just outside the secured patio doors of each bedroom is a private deck with a pair of patio chairs.

Breakfasts were tasty and varied: granola with fruit and a large cinnamon bun the first day; quiche the second day (though we ate out with our son and daughter-in-law that morning); pancakes with fruit and bacon the third day.

The first morning we got to know our fellow travellers from Adelaide, Australia. The second and third mornings, the neighbours were from State College, Pennsylvania.

We offer two tips for future visitors to the Inn:

1. The sheer curtains and opaque vertical blinds make the bedroom private and cozy, but they do not darken the room. Bring a sleep mask (three dollars at any drugstore) with you, or rise with the sun at 5 am in June.

2. Banff is a very small town (less than two square miles) that the railway built. No matter where you stay in Banff, you will hear the train blow its whistle, as it approaches the level highway crossings. Five to eight trains pass each night. Bring earplugs (also three dollars at any drugstore) with you to sleep through the whistles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this well located B & B close to Downtown shops and restaurants. Susan was a perfect host providing super breakfasts and stimulating conversation from a fellow world traveller. Our room was very comfortable with a adjacent kitchen/ lounge area for guests with tea/ coffee making facilities.
Susan was able to offer useful tips on where to see wildlife as well as where to eat in Banff, but most of all a pleasure to chat with over breakfasts

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Poplar Inn is a great choice for travelers to Banff who appreciate a convenient-to-downtown location that offers hardy breakfasts, beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds, and the enjoyable conversation of a world-traveler hostess like Susan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Our 4 night stay in this quality B&B absolutely made our trip to Banff a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, attractive and had everything we could ever need. The hostess Susan was so friendly and giving that my wife wanted to bring her home with us! She was never intrusive, but always at hand to offer day trip or dining suggestions. Her breakfasts each morning were great, we would look forward to waking up to see what was on offer for the day-such a great variety from the homemade maple granola with fresh fruit, to the blueberry pancakes and the AMAZING hot chocolate, a small example of her offerings, we just loved every days selection. We were really sad to leave on the last day. The Poplar Inn will be on top of our list when we return to this lovely town of Banff!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Poplar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar Inn

Address: 316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar Inn is a samll Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Banff. It is a new home built in a Victorian style. Two rooms have king size beds and en-suite bathrooms. A delicious full couse breakfast is served every morning. Coffee and tea are complimentary all day. The beautiful back yard is available to the guests. Short walk to downtown. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poplar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.