We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Poplar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar Inn
Save
You added The Poplar Inn to your Saves list
316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Poplar Inn for three nights in June to attend our son’s wedding, which took place at the Banff Springs Hotel. This was our first stay at a B&B.

The Inn’s location is very central, just a short walk to everywhere we wanted to go. Even our most distant destination, the Banff Springs Hotel, was only a pleasant thirty-minute walk away. We also got there by bus for a buck (seniors’ rate) and by taxi for ten dollars.

We took advantage of the deli section of the Safeway store just two blocks from the Inn to pick up fruit and salads. The two rooms of the Inn share a common sitting/dining area, which offers a small refrigerator and a microwave, as well as a coffee maker and a tea kettle.

The décor of the Inn was warm and inviting. The bedroom and the bathroom were both a good size, and were spotlessly clean. The king-size bed featured a comfortable mattress, pillows and bedding. The wardrobe/dresser combination was a good size and was stocked with plenty of coat hangers (something we wish hotels would do). There was a big screen TV, and there was a hair dryer tucked inside one of the night stands. Just outside the secured patio doors of each bedroom is a private deck with a pair of patio chairs.

Breakfasts were tasty and varied: granola with fruit and a large cinnamon bun the first day; quiche the second day (though we ate out with our son and daughter-in-law that morning); pancakes with fruit and bacon the third day.

The first morning we got to know our fellow travellers from Adelaide, Australia. The second and third mornings, the neighbours were from State College, Pennsylvania.

We offer two tips for future visitors to the Inn:

1. The sheer curtains and opaque vertical blinds make the bedroom private and cozy, but they do not darken the room. Bring a sleep mask (three dollars at any drugstore) with you, or rise with the sun at 5 am in June.

2. Banff is a very small town (less than two square miles) that the railway built. No matter where you stay in Banff, you will hear the train blow its whistle, as it approaches the level highway crossings. Five to eight trains pass each night. Bring earplugs (also three dollars at any drugstore) with you to sleep through the whistles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this well located B & B close to Downtown shops and restaurants. Susan was a perfect host providing super breakfasts and stimulating conversation from a fellow world traveller. Our room was very comfortable with a adjacent kitchen/ lounge area for guests with tea/ coffee making facilities.
Susan was able to offer useful tips on where to see wildlife as well as where to eat in Banff, but most of all a pleasure to chat with over breakfasts

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Poplar Inn is a great choice for travelers to Banff who appreciate a convenient-to-downtown location that offers hardy breakfasts, beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds, and the enjoyable conversation of a world-traveler hostess like Susan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Our 4 night stay in this quality B&B absolutely made our trip to Banff a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, attractive and had everything we could ever need. The hostess Susan was so friendly and giving that my wife wanted to bring her home with us! She was never intrusive, but always at hand to offer day trip or dining suggestions. Her breakfasts each morning were great, we would look forward to waking up to see what was on offer for the day-such a great variety from the homemade maple granola with fresh fruit, to the blueberry pancakes and the AMAZING hot chocolate, a small example of her offerings, we just loved every days selection. We were really sad to leave on the last day. The Poplar Inn will be on top of our list when we return to this lovely town of Banff!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights with Susan at The Poplar Inn. We've never stayed at a B&B before and weren't sure what to expect. We loved it! Very charming home and hostess. Met a wonderful couple from Denmark whom we shared meals and hospitality with. Wonderful breakfast every morning, amenities for preparing your own lunch or dinner. Very close to shopping, food and liquor stores. We DID not lock our room door once while there! Highly recommend The Poplar Inn. Thanks again Susan :) Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights for our honeymoon, and it was one of the highlights of our trip! From the minute we arrived we were made to feel like we were in our own home. We had our own bedroom and ensuite, and enjoyed having our own seperate entry to the home so we did not feel like we had to constantly interrupt when we would arrive back there from dinner or exploring the beautiful surroundings of Banff. The breakfasts that Susan prepared and cooked for us daily were so yummy and fresh, and we really enjoyed the morning conversations with her. We definitely would recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Banff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived in Banff to find it very nearly full...and snowing -lovely.
Another B&B recommended The Poplar Inn and we are very grateful they did.Susan was hoping to have a night off and took pity on us.
Everything was great - we said that we didn't really need breakfast - our waistlines needed a rest but we were greeted by the lovely smell of fresh baked cinnamon buns and coffee -Susan couldn't let us go without...and we didn't.
This B&B is in a great location very quiet with double glazing on the windows so you don't hear the trains. Everything you need is there - oh and the bed is huge and comfortable too & great wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Poplar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar Inn

Address: 316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar Inn is a samll Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Banff. It is a new home built in a Victorian style. Two rooms have king size beds and en-suite bathrooms. A delicious full couse breakfast is served every morning. Coffee and tea are complimentary all day. The beautiful back yard is available to the guests. Short walk to downtown. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poplar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.