We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stimulating Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Poplar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar Inn
Save
You added The Poplar Inn to your Saves list
316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Swansea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stimulating Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this well located B & B close to Downtown shops and restaurants. Susan was a perfect host providing super breakfasts and stimulating conversation from a fellow world traveller. Our room was very comfortable with a adjacent kitchen/ lounge area for guests with tea/ coffee making facilities.
Susan was able to offer useful tips on where to see wildlife as well as where to eat in Banff, but most of all a pleasure to chat with over breakfasts

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandNSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belmont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Poplar Inn is a great choice for travelers to Banff who appreciate a convenient-to-downtown location that offers hardy breakfasts, beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds, and the enjoyable conversation of a world-traveler hostess like Susan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Our 4 night stay in this quality B&B absolutely made our trip to Banff a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The rooms were spotless, comfortable, attractive and had everything we could ever need. The hostess Susan was so friendly and giving that my wife wanted to bring her home with us! She was never intrusive, but always at hand to offer day trip or dining suggestions. Her breakfasts each morning were great, we would look forward to waking up to see what was on offer for the day-such a great variety from the homemade maple granola with fresh fruit, to the blueberry pancakes and the AMAZING hot chocolate, a small example of her offerings, we just loved every days selection. We were really sad to leave on the last day. The Poplar Inn will be on top of our list when we return to this lovely town of Banff!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Neale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights with Susan at The Poplar Inn. We've never stayed at a B&B before and weren't sure what to expect. We loved it! Very charming home and hostess. Met a wonderful couple from Denmark whom we shared meals and hospitality with. Wonderful breakfast every morning, amenities for preparing your own lunch or dinner. Very close to shopping, food and liquor stores. We DID not lock our room door once while there! Highly recommend The Poplar Inn. Thanks again Susan :) Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights for our honeymoon, and it was one of the highlights of our trip! From the minute we arrived we were made to feel like we were in our own home. We had our own bedroom and ensuite, and enjoyed having our own seperate entry to the home so we did not feel like we had to constantly interrupt when we would arrive back there from dinner or exploring the beautiful surroundings of Banff. The breakfasts that Susan prepared and cooked for us daily were so yummy and fresh, and we really enjoyed the morning conversations with her. We definitely would recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to Banff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived in Banff to find it very nearly full...and snowing -lovely.
Another B&B recommended The Poplar Inn and we are very grateful they did.Susan was hoping to have a night off and took pity on us.
Everything was great - we said that we didn't really need breakfast - our waistlines needed a rest but we were greeted by the lovely smell of fresh baked cinnamon buns and coffee -Susan couldn't let us go without...and we didn't.
This B&B is in a great location very quiet with double glazing on the windows so you don't hear the trains. Everything you need is there - oh and the bed is huge and comfortable too & great wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pleasant stay with Susan at her B&B. Easy walk to downtown to shops and restaurants. Good breakfasts. Great advice about attractions from our hostess who is a native to the area. Gateway to Banff National Park, Lake Louise and others points north.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chipley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar Inn

Address: 316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar Inn is a samll Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Banff. It is a new home built in a Victorian style. Two rooms have king size beds and en-suite bathrooms. A delicious full couse breakfast is served every morning. Coffee and tea are complimentary all day. The beautiful back yard is available to the guests. Short walk to downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing