We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A LUCKY FIND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Poplar Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar Inn
316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“WHAT A LUCKY FIND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived in Banff to find it very nearly full...and snowing -lovely.
Another B&B recommended The Poplar Inn and we are very grateful they did.Susan was hoping to have a night off and took pity on us.
Everything was great - we said that we didn't really need breakfast - our waistlines needed a rest but we were greeted by the lovely smell of fresh baked cinnamon buns and coffee -Susan couldn't let us go without...and we didn't.
This B&B is in a great location very quiet with double glazing on the windows so you don't hear the trains. Everything you need is there - oh and the bed is huge and comfortable too & great wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
58
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, GA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pleasant stay with Susan at her B&B. Easy walk to downtown to shops and restaurants. Good breakfasts. Great advice about attractions from our hostess who is a native to the area. Gateway to Banff National Park, Lake Louise and others points north.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed with Susan while we sampled Banff's ski resorts. Susan is a charming hostess, very accommodating, and we had her all to ourselves. Nice room. The b&b is a short walk to restaurants and just across the street from the bus station for heading to the slopes. I would definitely stay with Susan again and would recommend her b&b to anyone traveling to Banff.

Room Tip: Pick the Larch room if possible. Both rooms are great, but the Larch is on the end of the house and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We don't often stay at B&B's; we are a bit more accustomed to hotels, usually 5 star in fact. For a change we thought we'd stay at a B&B in Banff, and it was a great experience. We had a concert late that night, so the separate entrance was nice. The room and bathroom were very clean; always good to have a King Bed.

The breakfast the next morning was prompt, full and very tasty. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Watch as to whether you will get a full breakfast in the low season (winter). We did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had a lovely time at the Poplar inn. Breakfasts were great...I mentioned that blueberry pancakes are my favorite...and Susan served them twice! The location is convenient to everything in Banff(walking). Susan makes you feel right at home and during breakfasts gave us a history of the Banff area.

We enjoyed Banff tremendously and the Polar Inn added to the enjoyment of our visit to the region.

Paul and Marg Bartholomae
Schaumburg, Il.
pbartho742@comcast.net

Room Tip: When going to visit various sites within the park, it is worth getting a relatively early start as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife & I stayed 3 nights in September 2011 at Poplar Inn as part of a Western Canada tour.

Our hostess, Susan, served an excellent breakfast in the residents lounge area each morning. Susan was also a mine of local information mixed with stories from her family & childhood growing up in the area. We found Banff very touristy but Poplar Inn is nicely located off the main drag just down a couple of side streets and you are in Banff Avenue - maybe 5 minutes walk.

We stayed in the Larch Room on the ground floor which was very clean & tidy with a large double bed and a view out to the garden. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed for two nights in August. The room was nicely furnished, with a big comfortable bed and direct access to outside. The bathroom was OK with a good shower, although a bit cramped (and could do with larger towels!)
There's a nice residents lounge with a fridge, kettle etc, where you also have breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Poplar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar Inn

Address: 316 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar Inn is a samll Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Banff. It is a new home built in a Victorian style. Two rooms have king size beds and en-suite bathrooms. A delicious full couse breakfast is served every morning. Coffee and tea are complimentary all day. The beautiful back yard is available to the guests. Short walk to downtown. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poplar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Poplar Inn to your Saves list