We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms and great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Odenthal B&B

Odenthal B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Odenthal B&B
Save
You added Odenthal B&B to your Saves list
510 Buffalo Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms and great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This B&B is located within walking distance of the heart of Banff town: ideally for your evening strolls through town, but also a perfect starting point for your day trips.

Our room was spacious and clean.

While the bathroom is shared with the other rooms this doesn't bother at all: the bathroom is clean and because there are only two guest rooms chances are low that the bathroom is occupied.

Breakfast is in one word delicious: cereal, different kinds of bread, different cheeses, ham, jelly, yoghurt, fresh fruit and berries, a hardboiled egg, orange juice and last but not least two delicious different fresh homemade pastries.

While cheaper than most other accomodations in Banff I am sure it can easily compete in cleanliness and spaciousness and you will be hard pressed to find a breakfast better than this. The shared bathroom is a non-issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

No trip to Banff would be complete without a stay at Odenthal's B&B.

Freda is the most amazing host - kind of like having a substitute mum - who takes care to prepare wonderful and nutritious breakfasts to see you through any hiking or skiing activities you have planned.

The house is original, so please don't expect anything modern, but it is very clean and comfortable, right in the heart of town by the Bow River and literally around the corner from Banff Avenue.

There are three rooms, two with double beds and one with two single beds. Guests have their own small lounge, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, balcony and a large bathroom to share.

We stayed in the middle of a very hot summer (29c every day) and were coll as cucumbers.

I have stayed at Odenthals five times now and wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Banff national Park.

Thanks Freda.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner and I visited Canada for the first time this Summer and started our trip with a 4 night stay in Banff. We chose Odenthal B&B from previous reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed! The B&B provided excellent value for money - it is located practically in the centre of town but on a quiet street. The walk to Banff Avenue took about 3 minutes and we could walk down to Bow river in about a minute. As per previous reviews Freda's breakfasts were amazing with freshly baked goods every morning. She gave us some excellent recommendations on what to do in the area all of which we followed up. The room we stayed in was quiet and comfortable, the bathroom is shared but it is large and clean and as we were the only ones staying at the time presented no problems. We would heartily recommend Odenthal to anyone and will definitely stay there again if we return to Banff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the Queen bed - one of the other rooms is twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Odenthal is a lovely old house a very short walk from both the river and the town centre - it actually features in the walking tour leaflet provided by the tourist information office. The house has rich wood panelling and a peaceful character. Guests are encouraged to remove their shoes to protect the carpets.

There are three rooms upstairs- two light and airy doubles and an elegant twin. All are well furnished and equipped, with exceptionally comfortable beds and high quality bed linen. There is also a room with a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, chairs and a writing desk. The bathroom is shared (and in keeping with the age of the house), but large - as the four of us were the only guests, sharing did not present any problems at all.

Breakfast was provided by Freda downstairs at a large table. She is a superb cook - each morning we had a choice of home-baked goodies including mufins, various fruit tarts, cake, bread and biscuits along with ham, eggs, juice, fruit, preserves, tea and coffee.

Banff has a bit of a mosquito problem (particularly beware the walk through the woods to the Gondola) but we were not troubled with them in the house, which has nets on the windows. Just close the front door quickly at night!

There is parking right outside the B&B which is on a quiet street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent three months travelling around the west coast of Canada and passed through Banff twice. We were lucky to find Odenthal the first time and had such a lovely stay that we returned to stay the second time.,
As per previous reviews, the breakfast was amazing, the room was clean and homely and the hosts were very welcoming. A great location as well.
We hope to return again one day!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent 3 marvelous days in Banff. My son and I we wanted to show his girlfriend how beautiful Banff is and how friendly the Banffians. We had an awesome time!!
Odenthal B&B is located right in the center of downtown. Great for all trips and shopping-tours.
As all the other times when we were there, it was absolutely homey and perfect

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I and our friends rented two rooms at this wonderful B&B in September. We couldn't have had a better experience! Check in was easy and the rooms were very nice and comfortable. Our only complaint would be the creaky floors! The large, varied, scrumptious breakfast prepared each morning by our hostess, Frieda, was definitely the highlight. We were able to take the leftovers and pack them up for lunch during our hikes in the area! We loved Banff and the surrounding area and will definitely return to Odenthal's.

Room Tip: There are three rooms to choose from, each with its own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Odenthal B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odenthal B&B

Address: 510 Buffalo Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odenthal B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.