We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor at Sway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor at Sway to your Saves list
The Manor at Sway
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Village Centre, Sway, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO41 6BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Sway B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Have had afternoon tea and also lunch fairly recently. Was not happy with the service on both occasions. We were the only quests at afternoon tea but after the initial service we were not spoken to again although we were there for hour and a half. The staff were reorganising the tables. At lunch there were many problems and our pre lunch drinks didn't arrive. We did get a free coffee after not receiving sugar we asked for. Very surprised as owner well known locally for running very successful restaurant in Lymington for many years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    69
    32
    20
    14
See reviews for
46
101
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a deal last week. Apart from it needing a little bit of an update in the main part of the hotel everything was ok. The bathroom was small but clean and the bed was comfortable but the room was very hot. The evening meal was amazing and after having a starter and main there was no room for the lovely selection of puddings on offer. Full english breakfast was served in the morning which was cooked to order.The funniest thing was the antiquated lift that we had to use minding that we didnt catch our fingers in the gate. Overall a satifactory stay and nice staff.

Room Tip: Very quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Invited to a 70th birthday party at Sway Manor and found it disappointing. It is in desperate need of
updating and is a bit like a maize to find your room. Once found the bed was hard, pillows uncomfortable, milk or tea was off. Didn't complain but would not return. Showers were in need of rust free treatment. Sorry Sway Manor not comfortable at all.

Room Tip: Has to be clean. Don't mind basic but must be clean. On,y saw one other room......not for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

have just returned from a very pleasant stay at sway manor. room was big comfortable (room 12)
yes the rooms are a bit dated however there are spotless clean the staff very helpful especially the young lad in the bar, he made us feel very special, the food was fantastic and we had more than enough veggies!!!
we certainly will be returning and hopefully in the summer when hopefully we can make the most of the garden and swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire,England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A group of us dined at their restaurant in early December for a pre-christmas lunch. The service was appalling with extremely long waiting times for our courses. The end wait was so long that we had to leave before coffee, as it never arrived in time. Very disorganised and disappointing, and will never return. The Management do not have the courtesy to respond to a written complaint!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I booked this hotel for a family celebration and was not disappointed. The staff at this hotel are excellent right through from the Sales Manager to the bar and waiting staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. They gave their personal attention at all times to make sure my event really was a night to remember. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a family celebration especially if you are looking for something which is smaller, more personal and set in a nice location in the New Forest. We dined in the conservatory which, when it was lit up at night with candles, was a very special venue. I also want to comment that the room I had (number 6) was superb, very roomy, clean and in keeping with the overall style of the hotel. I cannot fault my overall experience at this hotel in any way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a KGB deal to stay 3 nights between Xmas and New Year. We always take our dogs with us on short uk breaks and the New Forest is ideal for lovely long walks within striking distance of the coast. Usually dog friendly rooms are at best scruffy but at Sway Manor we were pleasantly suprised. The room was pleasant, nice selection of teas, flat screen tv, the bed and pillows exceptionally comfortable and the staff without exception, friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant where the food was excellent. My only criticism is that the portions were not very large so some sort of carb, probably potato would have been a nice filler. Breakfast was also excellent, a lovely choice of fresh fruit rather than the usual tinned prunes and grapefruit followed by a really hot full English. We were on the top floor and unfortunately the wifi didn't reach there. A great place to stay and we will certainly return. Hurry up and update your web site Sway Manor so we can book our next break......Xmas parties and breaks are of no interest in January!

Room Tip: If wifi in your room is important don't book a room n the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor at Sway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Sway

Address: Village Centre, Sway, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO41 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst > Sway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor at Sway 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor at Sway is an Edwardian house in the heart of the New Forest. Located in the village of Sway it offers 15 beautifully furnished bedrooms, many with views of the spectacular gardens and forest. The village of Sway is within easy distance of major cities, but is just off the beaten track of Brockenhurst, Lyndhurst and Lymington. Offering a unique New Forest experience.The restaurant at the Manor serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our chef uses only the freshest local ingredients and our seasonal menu offers diners the chance to sample the best the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Manor at Sway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sway Manor Hotel And Restaurant
The Manor At Sway United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor at Sway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.