We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's

Phil's
109 Spray Street, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
403-555-1212
Update restaurant details
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had breakfast here one morning, service was good and it was quick. Didn't have a lot of healthier options, but if your looking for a quick breakfast at a reasonable price, this is it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    14
    21
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a good place for a reasonable price food.
If you want to pay BIG dollars for average food go up the hill to the Banff Springs Hotel, you might be full but your wallet will be empty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Been there for a late breakfast. At first, we waited 10-15 minutes to be seated; place was full. When we ordered the waitress mentionned that there were about 15 minutes wait. We ordered as easy as eggs and sausage/bacon w/toasts and potatoes so it shouldn't be too long anyway, we thought. We never saw her again untill nearly an HOUR LATER, when the food finally arrived. Food was greasy, over cooked, the shredded potatoes were good, but overall ordinary.

There's lots of better restaurants for breakfast in Banff. I suggest much more to try the Coyote's, Melissa's or El toro in the same range of prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zjan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Our food was late it was cold and our order was wrong. I have family in Banff and have been going to Phil's for years. Never again! I always think it will be different but always leave disappointed. I'm not going to waste any more money and annoy myself by going to Phil's.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stopped here for breakfast with a large group of friends on a Sunday morning. It was busy and the restaurant was full and we were lucky to get several tables close together.
We were lucky since our waitress was fast, friendly and was a great server and made sure our coffee was hot and filled often.
I had the Stuffed French toast which I've never had before. It also came with a side bowl of fresh cut up fruit and I enjoyed my breakfast here.
I'd come back again since the price and service was fine with me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Phil's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.