We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to eat regular food after leaving!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge

Storm Mountain Lodge
Rte 93, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C8, Canada
403-762-4155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“It's hard to eat regular food after leaving!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Five star dining in your jeans...an old comfy lodge scented faintly with leather and woodsmoke...a hummingbird to keep you entertained and a wonderful gift shop across the room. Storm Mountain Lodge is a magic place with friendly relaxed service and food that will bring tears to your chain- restaurant weary eyes. Expect a few things; it takes time to cook real food. Enjoy the courses and the atmosphere, it's not a race. Expertly prepared, delicious, local, organic food isn't cheap. Trust me, it is worth every cent and then some. After our weekend at the lodge, we had to go back to "real life" and those first few meals were hard to take!
If there's something you've never tried, this is a good place. Everything is top notch and superlatively delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    78
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge in a cute little cabin for the long weekend. However you can just eat in the restaurant, for breakfast lunch or dinner it is well worth the trip. They recently were awarded Best Restaurant in Banff Park and they deserve it! the staff are great very polite and helpful and the food is AWESOME! check out my pictures.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great drive up there and wow amazing food. I cant wait for the next time I can go there again.
Probably the best birthday dinner I had in years.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A-maz-ing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I went to banff for the weekend to ski. We ended up reviewing the Storm Mountain Lodge and restaurant on trip advisor and it didn't disappoint. The place is like a trip into the past and the food was incredible, the staff were friendly and warm. Try the Bison tenderloin, the chef does an amazing job. Be sure to go early to spend time in the gift shop and leave time to relax by the fire after dinner.
We do a lot of travelling and were very impressed. We will be back to spend time at the lodge with a pile of books and a week with nothing to do but relax.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had lunch here with friends on our way to Kimberley. The lobby makes a great first impression with its fireplace, antler chandelier and bison head that I almost didn't care how good the food was. But the chef didn't disappoint with some delicious choices on a limited menu. We all made different choices and everything was great. The bison burgers are huge and may be a little intimidating for some people but I loved it!
Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Storm Mountain Lodge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;