We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-maz-ing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge

Storm Mountain Lodge
Rte 93, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1C8, Canada
403-762-4155
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A-maz-ing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I went to banff for the weekend to ski. We ended up reviewing the Storm Mountain Lodge and restaurant on trip advisor and it didn't disappoint. The place is like a trip into the past and the food was incredible, the staff were friendly and warm. Try the Bison tenderloin, the chef does an amazing job. Be sure to go early to spend time in the gift shop and leave time to relax by the fire after dinner.
We do a lot of travelling and were very impressed. We will be back to spend time at the lodge with a pile of books and a week with nothing to do but relax.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    74
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had lunch here with friends on our way to Kimberley. The lobby makes a great first impression with its fireplace, antler chandelier and bison head that I almost didn't care how good the food was. But the chef didn't disappoint with some delicious choices on a limited menu. We all made different choices and everything was great. The bison burgers are huge and may be a little intimidating for some people but I loved it!
Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Enjoyed a meal as per a recommendation a couple weeks ago. Great appetizers and the featured dish was unforgettable. Bison shortribs that were falling off the bone and full of flavour. I have never tasted anything so rich and satisfying. My partner had the rack of lamb and was not dissapointed! Service was friendly and attentive. We would not hesitate to return and will be telling our friends and family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was my third visit to Storm. My previous visits were outstanding however, this one left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

Four of us arrived for an early dinner. There was one other table there at the time. During our meal the one waitress served, at one point, seven tables, manned the fire, greeted guests at the lodge desk and answered the phone - she was outstanding!

We each ordered a glass of wine, appetizers, mains, and shared some desserts. Everyone enjoyed their appetizers; mine arrived not as described on the menu which left me confused and thinking I had made a mistake. My table was quick to point out that indeed, it was not as described on the menu. It was 'ok', just not what I was expecting at all. Two of us had the scallops as our mains. You could smell the fishiness of the scallops before they were set in front of us. Mine were not seasoned and cold - not a pleasant texture in my mouth. All of our dishes 'looked good' but all were room temperature to cold. The table next to us pretty much ordered the same mains as us and when they arrived the presentation of their dishes were different to ours; they had a garnish of herbs on top of their scallops and their lamb came pre-sliced; ours did not. Desserts were really really good! Based on food alone I would only give this specific experience a rating of two but factoring everything else I'm giving it a three.

Could have been an off night for us - it happens. But I would need to think twice before I would make the drive out there again for a dinner such as we had again. Storm is such a cool spot though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great ambiance, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took an evening trek up to Storm Mountain Lodge for dinner from Banff, where we were staying. In the dark, you could easily miss it if you weren't paying attention and looking for the sign. The lodge and restaurant is a log cabin tucked up into the hill. Our server was very pleasant and greeted us promptly. However, after ordering, things went a bit slow. It appeared to be the kitchen that was holding things up, as our drinks and bread came out quickly.

The server did a great job as she was overseeing all the tables herself. There were only about 10-12 tables, but this place has clearly created a name for itself. The food was delicious, though we found it to be very salty. I had the bison tenderloin, which was delicious, although rather overcooked. The boys had the short ribs, which they liked a lot, but again, found everything salty. My girlfriend had the stuffed chicken, which she enjoyed as well. We were so full after appetizers and entrees, we couldn't manage dessert.

Overall, great ambiance, food service was slow and too salty, but great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Storm Mountain Lodge also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.