We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnewanka Loop / Lake Johnson

Minnewanka Loop / Lake Johnson
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just a few minutes drive from Banff, this day trip is highly recommended. We first went to Lake Minnewanka (great name btw) and took the cruise of the lake. If you took the chair lift at Banff, you can also add on this cruise for a little extra. After the cruise we then drove to Lake Johnson. This was the highlight of the day. This beautiful lake has a very gentle walking track around its edge. Took us about 90 mins to complete the walk. We even stopped and took a quick swim. It's was a beautiful hot day in Sept and the water was very still and clear (water was pretty cold so it was a quick swim). There were only a few cars in the car park. It seems not many visitors know of this hidden gem. For those wanting to visit a beautiful lake with a gentle and easy walking trail, this would be my number one choice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Close to Banff town, fine for quick Lake Johnson swim and solitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This lake is not far from the town of Banff, within Banff National Park. No specific use fee, but included in general park entrance fee collected along Transcanada Highway. There were 4 cars total parked on a late Friday afternoon in September. It is possible to hike around the lake. Highway noise was not noticable, and probably absent on portions of the hike. Canoeing, swimming, mountain biking appear to be popular here. Solitude a big plus. Bring a towel for a quick dip, although from experience more than two minutes might be a challenge in fall (and you will probably be alone)... very clear and refreshing water. There are some benches and tables near the parking lot. Mini sandy beach area, hike around to the left for a spot entirely to yourself.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“No longer a secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

On a hot summer day, we took a quick trip for a dip in Johnson Lake. The parking lot was more than full, but we parked along the road and hiked back to the lake. I can see why people were there as it's a great lake for swimming or paddling a non-motorized raft/canoe/kayak. Water was refreshing and shallow enough for young kids to play comfortably either in the water or on the sandy beach.

Johnson Lake is small enough you can walk around (there's a path) without over extending yourself. There are two outhouses and some picnic tables. We'll be going back!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Driving around the loop was a great experience. From the cruise on Lake Minnewanka to the other scenic spots around the loop i.e. Two Jack lake, lake Johnson and Cascade ponds. All spots are very beautiful and well worth a visit. We have some amazing photos from our drive around the loop.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Exquisite scenery --- AND curly-horned sheep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lake Minnewanka had a boat tour that was about 1 1/2 hrs. with a knowledgeable guide to tell the "local stories" about the mountains surrounding this lovely lake. On a beautiful day in a lovely setting, it was well worth our time. After leaving there and heading toward Johnson Lake, we found groupings of curly-horned sheep along the roadside.......and some were practically posing for pictures with the mountains behind them as a backdrop!
Pictures at Lake Johnson are amazing! We're having one enlarged to a 24x30 size canvas for our Great Room! Talk about vista views with mountains and water and lovely surroundings! So glad this was part (and a highlight of) our itinerary!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnewanka Loop / Lake Johnson also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Minnewanka Loop / Lake Johnson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnewanka Loop / Lake Johnson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Minnewanka Loop / Lake Johnson to your Saves list