We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's all abouth location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crossing Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Crossing Resort to your Saves list
The Crossing Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Icefields Pwy (Hwy 93N), Banff National Park, Alberta TOL 1EO, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“it's all abouth location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed here in 2004 so knew what to expect.
It's great to stay half way the icefields parkway, so you have more time to fully enjoy this great drive (and you are on the road early, we were almost alone at the peyto lake lookout).
The motel is old fashioned, a bit "forest style" which I like.
The lady at the front desk was friendly and funny.
The room was clean and we had everything we needed, except... coffee making facilities. this is a thing I can't understand. In north america, you get this in the cheapest hotel, but not here. a real pity, as the cafeteria they offer is not charming at all. We went in there in the morning and left immediately, without coffee.
Instead we had our coffee (expensive though) at the lodge further down the parkway at the gorgeous bow lake.

You book this "resort" for its location, not for its quality and service. but the location is worth it. It was by the way the most expensive hotel of our holiday, and the one with the worst quality. but still, I do recommend...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    50
    36
    40
See reviews for
40
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Whilst The Crossing isn't the most luxurious place to stay it serves a purpose. Every time we visit the Rockies we spend so much time on the Parkway that it makes sense for us to stay here.
Yes the food is pricey but it's all about supply and demand. Previous commenters have mentioned the price of hot drinks. A word to the wise, the cafeteria does not charge for hot water. Take your own travel mugs, tea, coffee, sugar and hot chocolate and you can get 6 drinks for $2.79...the cost of a carton on milk from the cafeteria.
Yes the place needs updating but we have always found The Crossing to be clean, tidy and the staff friendly.
We will certainly visit again, it's a damn sight cheaper than staying by the Glacier!

Room Tip: If you're having the breakfast buffet, warm your plate in the microwave first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The proprietors of this hotel use their location to extract every cent they can from tourists. They don't have mini-refrigerators or even coffee makers in the rooms so the guests will be forced to buy extremely expensive meals in their cafeteria or restaurant. The price of one non-refillable cup of coffee is $3.50. It is a long drive to the next town. The rooms are very small, and just the bare minimum is provided. However, the hotel was convenient and clean and we didn't have to lug bags upstairs. There is an extra charge if you want a view, and the views are indeed stunning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the experience more than I can say! The room.was clean, the bed was comfy though the fixtures were well used. Off season rates made this a wonderful base for hiking and enjoying the gifts mother nature has blessed this area with. I found the food and drinks a bit pricey, but considering how far out in the wilderness they are, was happy to have somewhere to have a hot meal and buy the necessities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place would make a roadside prostitute blush. ( Well almost )
We stayed here in September & whilst we were not expecting the Hilton hotel for this amount of money ( 1 night = $195 tax inclusive ) we were not happy when we found a large smear of faecal matter on one of the blankets on the bed- the staff did happily exchange the blanket for us, they did not however offer to change the bed linen or to move us to another room. Further the carpets hadn't been vacuumed & the bathroom was not cleaned properly. The ice bucket had hairs of uncertain origin inside it & it was cracked down the side.
Generally it doesn't bother me if a place is dated & tired as long as it is clean. This place was not clean. There was a large dead moth on the floor in the toilet. This didn't bother us so much as we just pretended he was resting there next to the toilet.
The meals in the cafeteria were very expensive of pretty poor quality. A Hot dog was $11, pulled pork sandwich & fries $15 & a large cup of soda was $4.
I honestly would have preferred to leave & drive through to Golden but I was too tired after doing the Wilcox Trail that afternoon & was almost nodding off to sleep before arriving at this place. I couldn't have safely driven further otherwise I would have left in a hurry.
I probably wouldn't have written this review if I was paying $79 per night for a room - I would have just said to myself, "We'll you get what you pay for." However when you pay $179 plus tax I think you can expect a clean, tidy room with the amenities reflective of the cost.
I could not recommend this place based on our experience. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, or sleep outside & hope that the bears leave you alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We can just re-emphasize what other people are saying. Absolutely disappointed with the service of this place. We booked this hotel and unfortunately i didn't read the comments on Trip Advisor before. We tried to cancel but they had already charged the rooms to the credit card and said we have no cancellation policy - so no money back if you are not coming. After a while she wanted to reimburse 50% and finally after quite some firm talk went up to 70%. We still stopped by that hotel on our trip and were just glad that we didn't stay. It's just so run down, it's a shame. They have so much going for them by being the only ones around there and the stunning view. But instead of capitalizing on that they upset everybody. We ended up staying in Lake Louise for way better bang for our buck. If at all possible drive by this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The place is very dated and expensive for what your get - not good value for money. There is no air conditioning, only a roof mounted fan which did the job on a cool evening - wouldn't like to be there when it was very hot. When we arrived we were given the keys for an already occupied room. When this was pointed out to receptionist she didn't know what to do and took 15 minutes to find someone to make a decison.

The hot tub was out of use and clearly had been for some time. Much of the gym equipment was worn, probably verging on dangerous. None of the soft drink vending machines were working and the choice in the shop was non existant. The food in the cafe was just passable. The girl that was working there that evening didn't say a word to us - in total contrast to the other Canadians we met on our 5 week trip. Many areas of the wooden walkways around the room we were in were rotten and dangerous. About time who ever is responsible for health and saftey enforcement in the local authority paid this place a visit. Lots of potential for law suits.

The only thing this place has going for it is the views - they are totally stunning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff National Park
23.7 mi away
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
#6 of 8 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
6.9 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#18 of 27 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Johnston Canyon Campground
#18 of 28 in Banff National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
44.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossing Resort

Address: Icefields Pwy (Hwy 93N), Banff National Park, Alberta TOL 1EO, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Banff National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crossing Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossing Resort is family owned resort and located midway on the Icefields Parkway within 30 minutes of most major Attractions. Full services on site such as 3 dining venues a Pub, Gas Station, Genedral store and Gift,Guest Center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Crossing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crossing Hotel Lake Louise
Crossing Resort Lake Louise
Crossing Hotel Lake Louise
The Crossing Resort Banff National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crossing Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.