We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blood on pillows, bathroom is very disgusting, food is horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Crossing Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Crossing Resort to your Saves list
The Crossing Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Icefields Pwy (Hwy 93N), Banff National Park, Alberta TOL 1EO, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Blood on pillows, bathroom is very disgusting, food is horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It should not be called a resort, the name should be garbage inn. I will never recommend this to anyone. horrible, blood found on pillows and sheets, could not sleep all night. washrooms was not cleaned for months, terrible seen. I had friends from Belgium and they could not believe what they've seen. Food is horrible, all 6 of us had a food poisoning. Very expensive and when you talk to staff or manager they don't care and were unhelpful. Health department should investigate and TripAdvisor should take it off their site. horrible horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    44
    33
    37
See reviews for
35
70
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We didn't eat at the restaurant, which -according to the other reviews- was a good choice. Our room was basic and alright. Keep in mind that hotels and restuarants in the Jasper, Banff, Kootenay National Park areas will all be overpriced at $191.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The previous reviews are correct, by current standards these rooms are over priced for what you are getting. They are rustic simple units, however, they are clean and you just can't beat the view but because of the location and views, you will pay through the nose....for everything.
Upon check in we were gruffly handed our keys and ushered out the front door, we were not given a site map like most similar hotels. We spent 20 minutes driving through the parking lot trying to figure out where our room was as there is no signage anywhere.
We arrived after the restaurant was closed so we stopped by the pub onsite to see what they had to eat. The decor in the pub was really nice, just what you expect from a mountain resort, very "woodsy" the server in the pub was VERY pleasant so it made up for the check in staff. My issue was they are obviously either too cheap to hire staff despite the money they make on the resort or they truely can't find staffing but they have no cooks. If you want something to eat you order, pay a ridiculoius price (if I remember right it was about $15 for a burger and pre-made coleslaw) and then cook it yourself...I'M NOT KIDDING. You order a burger, they give you the patty and the bun and you cook it yourself on a grill in the corner of the pub!!! We ended up ordering chili because there was no way I was paying $15 to cook my own burger. We were given a 12oz "togo" mug and told to fill up our own cups for $8 each....oh but wait the package of two soda crackers were free! We skipped breakfast the next morning and just drove the hour and a half to Golden and had breakfast there. Again, this is a resort you stop in beause it is a decent stopping point if you are coming from Edmonton or Calgary depending on where you are headed. It does have beautiful views and is decently clean but you are paying heavily for this..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Young staff and not very reliable. Super small room for the price and needs renovation badly!

G.D.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stopped at the cafeteria and it was horrible. Service was so slow, no soup or chilli in the 8 pots they had. Nothing was filled up. Talked to some people from a bus tour they were from Germany and I must say we were embarrased to admit this is something we serve in Canada. They had nothing and when we asked where the soup or chilli was cause the pots were empty they said oh its not ready yet. Bad management and WAY over priced. We had a hamburger and fish and chips with one pop and was $42.00 and it sucked. Fish was mushy and the hamburger had an after taste. Yuk!!! We only ate half of that. They have no management at all, one till and they are not prepared for bus tours. Again was embarrassed to say this was a Canadian restaurant. Bus tours should not bring people there!!!! Don't go there you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but we did take lunch at the cafeteria. I would recommend you pack a lunch or be prepared to spend almost $50 for two people. I understand it's more or less in the middle of nowhere and this might be the only option but it's a bit too much for that reason.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

This is probably the only stop you'll find between Lake Louise and Jasper. While its address says Lake Louise, it's actually quite far from it as Icefield Parkways is a long stretch.

We stopes over for some food on our way from Banff to Jasper. Some of us ordered the burger, salmon burger and fish and chips. For cafeteria food, it cost us $85 for the 5 of us! Not only that, once we got our food, my dad went to get some water and was told that a cup would cost him 25cents.

How is it that an expensive cafeteria food doesn't come with a free drink? This is too much. The burgers aren't THAT good and they're overpriced and you'd have to charge more for a drink?

You're better off bringing some food from Chateau Fairmont all the way to Jasper.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crossing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossing Resort

Address: Icefields Pwy (Hwy 93N), Banff National Park, Alberta TOL 1EO, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Banff National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crossing Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Crossing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crossing Hotel Lake Louise
Crossing Resort Lake Louise
Crossing Hotel Lake Louise
The Crossing Resort Banff National Park, Canada - Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crossing Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.