We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Lake

Bow Lake
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset, Fishing
Attraction details
Timmins, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Amazing view of the lake, river and the rockies, Must see breathtaking views. Would love to return on day

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful stop along the Icefield Parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

There is a little lodge here that is literally booked almost a year in advance and I can totally see why. Bow lake was incredibly beautiful, especially with the blue skies and sunshine we had the day we visited. I even took 10 minutes to just lay on the rock beach and soak in the sights and sounds the lake had to offer! Definitely a great little pit stop - and the gift shop is pretty great too!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

When we arrived at Bow Lake, there were hardly any people around. There were lots of trails and little bridges to moodle around on, plus we enjoyed the gift shop too. Lots of interesting stuff.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
261 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had the chance for a photo opportunity whilst on a bus tour. Very pretty lake still frozen, lovely scenery and well worth a stop.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing views of lake still half frozen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stopped for a quick photo opportunity whilst driving up to the Columbia ice field. We're glad we did as the views were amazing. Some of the lake was still frozen even in June which added to the dramatic view. Worth a quick stop on the roadside!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bow Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bow Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.