We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Lake

Bow Lake
, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$140*
and up
Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset, Fishing
Attraction details
Matheson, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Amazing view of the lake, river and the rockies, Must see breathtaking views. Would love to return on day

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    32
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful stop along the Icefield Parkway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

There is a little lodge here that is literally booked almost a year in advance and I can totally see why. Bow lake was incredibly beautiful, especially with the blue skies and sunshine we had the day we visited. I even took 10 minutes to just lay on the rock beach and soak in the sights and sounds the lake had to offer! Definitely a great little pit stop - and the gift shop is pretty great too!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

When we arrived at Bow Lake, there were hardly any people around. There were lots of trails and little bridges to moodle around on, plus we enjoyed the gift shop too. Lots of interesting stuff.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
339 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had the chance for a photo opportunity whilst on a bus tour. Very pretty lake still frozen, lovely scenery and well worth a stop.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing views of lake still half frozen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stopped for a quick photo opportunity whilst driving up to the Columbia ice field. We're glad we did as the views were amazing. Some of the lake was still frozen even in June which added to the dramatic view. Worth a quick stop on the roadside!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bow Lake also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Bow Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.