We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely done...there are more falls than advertised on the signs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnston Canyon

Johnston Canyon
Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic wooded canyon with trails for hiking and biking.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nicely done...there are more falls than advertised on the signs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 NEW

Shared the walking trail with a poor black bear that had the crap scared out of him by the tourists taking photo's. There are 4 or 5 different falls on this one hr. each way walk.
Easy to get around and not too much up and down.
A very enjoyable way to kill an afernoon.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    176
    28
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

If you like canyons, waterfalls, and crystal clear water, this is the place for you. I am a slow walker, and it takes 1.5hrs to go to the upper falls. I've seen this trail listed as wheelchair friendly, but it certainly is not. Although paved, it is heaving in many places, and can be very steep. Families with strollers can really struggle. Path is narrow in spots and it can be hard to pass another hiker on trail. Go very early in the day, or after supper to try to avoid busy crowds.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved the canyon & waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

We hiked both lower (0.5 miles one way) and upper falls (another 1 mile one way) - not a very difficult one. Would recommend seeing the falls & the canyon. The trail to upper falls is completely paved. We skipped ink pots which was further 3.5 km one way.
There is a cafe at the entrance which sells food & drinks.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Interesting walk and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

We walked the Lower Falls walkway,and found it to be a pleasant walk, with paved pathways , and catwalks. The views of the canyon are incredible, and the waterfall at the end is excellent. I would advise to go early, as I believe it is a busy place in the afternoon.As well, good walking shoes, and water are a must.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Leisurely hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

The trail is amazing and is perfect for all ages.
There is so much to see and you can do the short walk, about 1 mile or the extended which we did easy in under 1 hour return.
Look out for wildlife on the way, especially early in the morning, the are plenty of advantage points along the way to take photos and just enjoy the brilliant scenery

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnston Canyon also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Johnston Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnston Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.